Updated An Old Armoire Today

Well, actually started it yesterday.   IT  is an old cheap, pine armoire that I got – I think from Sams Club – back when I was pregnant with my first child.  Plan was to paint it white and use it for the baby’s room.  I wasn’t a professional finisher then, I was just crafty.  I brought it home and painted it white.  I didn’t know to prime it first, thus the nice pine knot holes that you see in the photo that slowly appeared….

dsc_4482-desktop-resolution

So –  for this project,   no sanding,  no prepwork… just made sure it was clean.  And dry.

Smooshed on a layer of Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Colonial Blue.  When that dried, I used some  CC Smooth Plaster and a stencil and applied a pattern to the 2 front cabinet doors.  Last night, before I went to bed, I smooshed on a layer of the CC Chipping Paste.   This morning I topped it off with a layer of  CC Textured Basecoat Parchment.   This afternoon I took out my handy dandy palm sander and hummed away.  When I distressed it back to where I wanted it,   I applied the Toner and Voila –  a New Armoire.   (still needs knobs)

dsc_4554-desktop-resolution

dsc_4556-desktop-resolution

dsc_4557-desktop-resolution

Total time, if I added up all the steps –  a little over 2 hours.  (I did NOT finish the top or sides…yet)

Workshops are forming now for the products used here.  For more information please check it out HERE.

7 responses to “Updated An Old Armoire Today

  1. Just passing by.Btw, your website has great content!

  2. Oh Patty…that is killer! Looks like something you’d see in the magazines! Great job!

  3. AWESOME!!! that is so gorgeous!!!

  4. Pingback: Every Oak Furniture Lovers Dream - A Smashing New Look « Fabulously Finished

  5. I love what you did to the armoire. I have an old one I want to do that to but just don’t have time right now.
    Thanks for the info.

  6. I have an old Hoosier cabinet that my daughter and husband helped me strip off about 20 layers of old lead based paint from 50 years ago, it was a huge job and one I’d never do again. Where was this product then…hummm. Well I’d love to try this on that cabinet, it doesn’t go with our new home, I like to try something in a black, or off white with black. Your cabinet looks great, very French countryish.

    • can imagine the labor intensity of your cabinet…. at least the lead is gone!

      Thanks re the cabinet – I am actually not a ‘blue’ person – nothing in my house is blue, though i love it with creams, whites, silvers….. i STILL dont have a place for this armoire in my house!

Leave a Reply

