Dark Walls…. What About The Ceiling?

Do you like this ceiling light, or

housebeautiful.com

do you think it needs a little color, like this?

sabinavavra.com

sabinavavra.com

I went dark on my living room walls, several years ago.   We had all the ceilings painted, and though we didn’t pick ‘ceiling white’  our ceilings were still pretty light-

DSC_6893

The ceiling here is wet, but you get the idea.    The ceiling color bugged me.    I think it was because it was just a big  plain nothing.  No pretty light fixture hanging,  no medallion….  the trim just blah…. but can’t change those things.

Because of the water damage, and the drywall repair, the  room needs to be repainted.   I still want to go dark on the walls, though I’m considering tweaking the color a bit (my original color was a ‘sh… brindle brown’ –   remember that great term of my hubster’s?!!)    Wondered about BM 1554 Dash of Pepper. I have it taped to the wall -

DSC_7305

and here its next to the rug and the sofa fabric.  That fabric photographs bright -its not that shimmery in person-

DSC_7312

Here I have it next to the window treatment.   Dash of Pepper looks really green here -

DSC_7313

I have to decide on the colors. This room is a step down, from the f0yer, so the walls are approx 9 1/2 tall…     The painter will be here next week.   Then,  everything will be moved out of this room and loaded into a storage truck -

DSC_7307

not just this room, but the dining room, the foyer, the library, the great room … even the toilet from the powder room …. all of it will get boxed up and packed away, so the floor company can do this -

DSC_7308

What a mess, eh?    In case you’re wondering,  the Red Mahogany color matched the best – its a little lighter then the floors, and feels weird (old floors are smooth) but the floor guys swears the floors will eventually age a little darker (except in front of windows) and will eventually start to feel smoother….  In the photo the Sedonna Red looks the best match, but in person it is very red.

So, back to dark walls.    I LOVE dark walls -

Tomas Pearce ID jessicaclairesworld.blogspot.com

Tomas Pearce ID jessicaclairesworld.blogspot.com

housebeautiful.com

housebeautiful.com

(unmarked photo... if you know its home please let me know)

(unmarked photo... if you know its home please let me know)

Miles Redd    patriciagrayinc.blogspot.com

Miles Redd patriciagrayinc.blogspot.com

livingetc.com

livingetc.com

ifthelampshadefits.blogspot.com

ifthelampshadefits.blogspot.com

And then the ceiling….   Not this, even though this is a pretty cool room -

littlegreennotebook.blogspot.com

littlegreennotebook.blogspot.com

What a yummy room… the walls look plaster black,  the trim/detail looks metallic silver… .LOVE the rug….. the ceiling is light but looks like something more than paint….

(unmarked as well... I  LOVE this photo!  Who's is it?)

(unmarked as well... Who's is it?)

This ceiling is darker – looks like silver leaf.  Would LOVE that, even contemplated doing that, but I don’t think it’s the right choice.  I would like it on a smaller, cozier ceiling, that is surrounded by lovely trim -

phillipjeffries.com

phillipjeffries.com

I really like this allover dark -

burnhamdesign.com

burnhamdesign.com

Darker ceiling with darker walls –  i like that … but my room isn’t that detailed -

(unknown photo ... please help me identify)

(unknown photo ... please help me identify)

So – if I go dark on the walls,  what do you think I should do with that ceiling?

3 responses to “Dark Walls…. What About The Ceiling?

  1. Pingback: Dark Walls Part II… My Living Room « Fabulously Finished

  2. Love the white Ceiling. I think it gives more contrast with the dark brown walls and looks fab. The second photo looks more bland, but it person, it might work well.

    I just did an accent wall in a dark brown, and like it so much I think the whole room is going to turn into that color (it a largish livingroom.)

    greg

    • Hey Greg, I like the light ceiling with the dark walls as well… I have come so close, in the last few days, to pulling out the ladders and painting my 2 story great room that same darker brown – now that the furniture is back in the living room, drapes etc, everything looks nicer on that darker canvas… and the brown, to me, is neutral.. Now that room is putting my blah Behr Hawksbill color to shame…. If it wasnt for this huge garage sale I’m readying for later this week, I think I’d be straight painting tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

