Lost My Voice Screaming On Roller Coasters…

My husband and I love roller coasters.    We haven’t done much riding – our last big trip to Cedar Point was in 1989 , and we weren’t even married yet.

Fast forward to married life and two young children…    that have NO desire to ride rolly coasters… ??    The spawn of two coaster crazy people are deathly afraid of roller coasters?   Major bummer.

It’s been several years since our debacle at Kings Island Amusement Park.   This past weekend we decided to try again – this time Cedar Point, in Sandusky, Ohio,  for two days.  We let both kids bring a friend -  they are old enough now (and equipped with cell phones) to be  trusted on their own, and we figured they could walk around and have fun with their friends, while my husband and I could blast back to our youthful coaster crazy riding days.

Since our last visit Cedar Point has added many coasters.  We rode the Maverick first, with its 95 degree first hill drop -  it was AWESOMENESS!    My daughter and her friend rode it with us (my son sat it out) , and she loved it!!!

Maverick

Then we rode the Millenium Force, with its first hill 300 foot plunge.  I kept my eyes shut the whole way up that first hill – I was freeking out – but after that, I was fine.  Day 2 my daughter rode that one too -

Millennium Force

Then we rode the Raptor.  OMG it was so cool!!!!!!  (Day 2 my son rode it).  We rode this about 4 times -  front row is the best high ever!  Front row on the Raptor was tied for first place in our ‘What was the most fun?’ poll-

Raptor

As we walked around the park,  it loomed  -   ‘It’ being that big yellow/red banana looking coaster -

The Top Thrill Dragster – a coaster that goes 0-120 MPH in 4 seconds, as it shoots you up a 420 ft hill -

Dragster

I didn’t plan on riding this one, but somehow we ended up in line.   Seriously, I wanted to poo my pants as we neared the loading area.  When it took off I kept my eyes closed the whole 0-120 MPH acceleration… it was crazy fast, I can’t explain the feeling.  Justly named, it became an instant contender for ‘top thrill ride’  for me.    Day two we rode it again,  this time with my daughter and her friend – they freaked out as well but loved the thrill.     I wanted to ride it one more time, front seat, but it broke down.  I’m told it breaks down alot.  Bummer.

We rode other stuff as well,  Cedar Point has alot, but only one left worth mentioning -  the Skyhawk-

Skyhawk

This gigantic swing was super super scary!  You literally get butt air on this one, hanging against this teeny lap bar, no where to hang on, upside down WAY high up -

We rode it twice, and both times I screamed the whole ride.   Did I mention I lost some of my voice  there?        All in all it was nice getting away for a few days,  and it was a blast riding coasters again.

Thank you Lord, for a safe trip, dry weather, and relatively short lines.

Now back to reality!

3 responses to “Lost My Voice Screaming On Roller Coasters…

  1. Lol, Patty,
    Looks like a blast! Did I say “blast”? I haven’t used that term since high school, just goes to show that we all like to recapture the fun we use to have as kids and that we are all still kids at heart and should do this more often…….hmmmmm….maybe I’ll take a trip to Orlando or Tampa I haven’t been there in years, what a great post!

    • “Blast” is a perfect word, Art – I’m not certain how ‘young’ you are :) but I find myself often thinking in present terms – like seeing myself riding every coaster there is (even though if I think about it, it was me in my later 20′s doing that!) or being able to play baseball like a boy (that was in my teens….) – yet, when I try it now, in my later 40′s, its a WHOLE different game. One time, at Cedar Point, I asked my husband, “So whats the worse that can happen, can it put us into cardiac failure?”. After coaster number two, my hubster walked off holding his back – next morning we were both stiff as boards. That part of growing older sucks… it’s like you said, we truly are kids at heart, I wish we could match that up with our bodies!

      • Amen Patty lol
        Let’s just say that the 40′s are over for me and a roller coaster would put me down for a week or better with my back, but I still like to watch from the sidelines and get a rush from watching others, I still have plans of jumping out of a perfectly good airplane after I retire and will have plenty of pain pills waiting for me when I land lol

Leave a Reply

