Candi In Texas Refinishes Her Tile Fireplace Surround Easily, With Caromal Colours…

Candi called me late September and asked about refinishing her ceramic tile fireplace surround using Caromal Colours paints-

I would totally love to see a sample of what you think would work for painting the ceramic tile around my fireplace.   (We discussed white and off white.)  The tile doesn’t have a glossy sheen, it’s actually got a little texture already so I’m thinking the toner and/or glaze would pick up nicely.  This same (horrible blue) tile is in my small bathroom and I would LOVE to paint that as well.  I’ve attached a picture of the fireplace and the bathroom.  (The cabinets in the bathroom were originally first on my to-do list.  That’s what started this whole deal!)  Hopefully I can get this all going soon and send you some before and after pictures.   Thank you again and again for taking the time to speak with me and for sharing your wonderful art and ideas with us.  You are truly a DIYer’s dream come true!!  Sincerely,  Candi

Isn’t she nice?) :)   Here’s the before

I sent her off a few samples –   Caromal Colours textured basecoat Parchment, adding in a little Krylon Webbing (black) for effect, and the Caromal Toner.

In October I got this

Patty,
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for all your help and advice.  I wanted to let you know that I’ve finally finished the fireplace.  As you can see in the before, it was a horrible blue color.  After two coats of Parchment, some chiffon and black webbing spray, and toner, this is what I got.  WE LOVE IT!  And it didn’t cost the over $900 we were expecting when we decided to change the look.  I can’t tell you how many projects I’ve added to my to do list now thanks to you and Caromal Colours.  Now if you could figure out how to help me make the television with ESPN (always) on not be the focal point of our living room, live would be perfect!!  This might take getting rid of the husband so I’ll just admire the fireplace for now!  You’re a dream come true.
Thank you again…and I hope to be sending many more before and after photos.
This is why I love working with Caromal Colours products – they truly empower homeowners to do things they never could have imagined they’d do – and be so excited at the cool stuff they create, with their own efforts!
Now, the reveal
AWESOME transformation!
Cost – one jar of Caromal Colours Parchment $32.50,  Toner $16.50,  a can of Krylon Webbing $8, and some left over paint to water down (she used chifffon color).  You’ll have product left over to use on other projects, and trust me, you’ll find places to use them!
Before
After –   room changer
Thank you Candi, for taking photos along the way, and allowing me to share them with others looking for ideas.  Can’t wait to see more!

LET CAROMAL COLOURS ROCK YOUR world!

Head to my store   SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM   for all of your Caromal needs  – including perfect 8 ounce samplers of the Textured Basecoats – a great way to experiment with color combinations!

14 responses to “Candi In Texas Refinishes Her Tile Fireplace Surround Easily, With Caromal Colours…

  1. Boy what a fabulous update!!! Do you think a similar technique could be used on shiny black tile on walls in a bathroom? What about in the shower area (same tiles)?

    • Hi Laura, I’ve had people ask about using on tile, and I’ve passed those questions on to the owners that created the paints and they’ve had success w/it – you would topcoat with a nice durable topcoat and caulk any edges , and to seal good – I personally, though , would be leary of any area that would be under water daily…. thats just me…..

  2. What a fantastic makeover! I would have never thought to use the textured basecoat on tile and I’d never heard of webbing until now.

    Great consultation!

    Joanne

  3. What type of top coat would be used for the fireplace surround?

    Joanne

    • the webbing is an awesome secret – but the funny is, its addicting, so you have to tell yourself to stop or you can go crazy :) the webbing dries quick, but will leave a slight raised effect… to get rid of that lightly sand it (220 grit) and the ‘rise’ will go away but the vein pattern will stay. i love the TB’s on tile, or formica, or flooring etc- the reclaim would bond as well, but the tb’s being thicker have a little more uumph.

      • topcoats – i do love the wipe on polys – there is satin and gloss – i prefer the satin – thing about wipe on is its like 1/2 strength to a full bodied poly, so think ‘1/2 the durability’… but heres the deal – the Caromal paints are durable on their own – without topcoating – the paints wont come off, or wash off, but the TB’s are a matte finish , and if you want some sheen added, AND if you want durability in washing/scrubbing etc , then a topcoat is a good way to get those benefits. i like to apply at least 2 coats of the satin poly – but wiping on goes so quick, you dont care.
        (oh , ps – i carry the min wax wipe on satin , as well, but i dont get kickback from them – i just really like their stuff and its affordable)

  4. Thank you!! I wish you could see it in person…it’s so much prettier! We love it. It took two coats of TBC to completely cover it and then I sanded – WONDERFUL! The webbing spray is awesome. I covered every other title with paper and sprayed then alternated the paper just to make the tiles look different. Next I used the toner and finally, after giving all that a week to really dry, I used the rub on poly that Patty always talks about/uses. It leaves a matt finish which is just perfect.

    Trying to save more money, I also did the tile in our entry. There I used Reclaim, spray webbing, and Minwax water based oil-modified poly rolled on. (That’s suppose to be more durable right?) It left the tile with a little more gloss/shine than the fireplace, but even that is pefect. We had a new front door installed and the installer couldn’t get over how beautiful it was or that it was painted! We’ve been very rough on it and it’s holding up just great.

    I DID do a bathroom too! Well, just the bathroom floor anyway. It’s a small bathroom and I didn’t want to mess with removing the toilet so that was a little harder. Only difference is that I used the Reclaim with glaze (instead of toner). Since the bathroom is so small, I didn’t want the floor too dark. Personally, I’m not a fan of the glaze on the Reclaim…on tile. On wood, it’s probably beautiful. The floor has more of a yellowish look. My family says they love it but I’m not so sure. I have pictures of that remodel that I’ll send in as well. None-the-less, after using the poly (and I did caulk all around the edges since there is water in that room), the floor is holding up nicely. And it gets abused quite often!! Also used the black Reclaim on the cheap CHEAP cabinets in there and WOW is all I can say!! If the black wall tiles aren’t in the shower or get splashed with water regularly, I don’t see why you couldn’t do the same thing?!

    Love love love the product(s) and Patty!!!
    :-) Candi

    • ah, the black reclaim is heaven! lol – i agree, if not soaking in water or getting wet, i’d venture into the land of painting tile. caulk good, like Candi said.

      it is so easy on cabs too – that black covers like tar- and no need to glaze cuz its black!

      so you arent fan so much of glazed offwhite? yes, it is a warmer color – maybe the white with glaze would have been better, or the ‘coffee’ glaze is browner than yellower…. either way? any time you ever tire of it, roll over it w/more paint and top again!

      you rocked it Candi – thanks so much for sharing with everyone :)

  5. Dan Pippinger

    Anywhere I could see a step by step on how this was done?

    • Dan, i am going to be doing a short video on this kind of ‘spray on vein’ tetxured finish that is great over ceramic,formica etc – i’ll be posting it on my blog and youtube, so keep checking back. hopefully in next 2 weeks.. patty

  6. Patty, did you ever do the video mentioned above? If so, where do I find it

    • hmmm , no – gads, where did that one slip by? i will add it (Again) to my list of things i intend to video – i have a gal now how does it for me, but thats on the backburner until we get everything over to new store – less than 2 weeks away…. thanks for reminding me!

  7. Candi, I love the new fireplace. If you get the chance can you let me know all the exact products and colors you used. I tried looking, but I didn’t see them. We have a similar type of fireplace tile, but it is green that is textured (looks almost exactly like yours but green) and looks horrible. We had new dark hardwood floor placed down. Have been looking for a rustic look, and I think the one you guys made would look perfect. We don’t want to tear down and replace the tiles, so hoping to do something like what you have done, now just hoping that I can copy what you did.

Leave a Reply

