Painted Plaster Relief – American Paint Saddle, Tumbleweed, Surfboard

A plaster wall hanging that had no use anymore, sat, lost in the backroom for months.   I spotted it one day and decided to paint it using a few of American Paint Company chalk/clay paint colors I’d not used yet.

I first gave the plaster piece a brushing of Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Chocolate -  my way of adding a little added dimension, and depth.  DSC_2335

Then some APC  Saddle (medium brown) , Tumbleweed (light tan brown), Surfboard (light turquoise) , and a little Home Plate (offwhite)

DSC_2336

I chip brushed on the paints – first Saddle – not everywhere, just here and there

DSC_2337

DSC_2338

then some Tumbleweed over that…   Some areas got a little Saddle BACK over the  Tumbleweed – basically I just wanted a warm shade of browns…

DSC_2339 DSC_2340

Over all that wet paint  I brushed on the Surfboard, more in a drybrush method so that only the tops of the detail would be ‘surfed’….

DSC_2341

DSC_2342

Lastly, just a little hint of Home Plate (offwhite), again lightly drybrushed -

DSC_2343

DSC_2344

DSC_2345

DSC_2347

DSC_2348

When it dried (didn’t take long)   I lightly sanded some high areas to reveal away the color

DSC_2351

then I grabbed the Liberon Medium Oak and sealed the paint by scrubbing it on and wiping the excess off…

DSC_2352

The chalk/clay paint needs to be sealed, and the Liberon Wax not only seals but also ages (dirtys) it up for me, in one step…

DSC_2353

I love it’s ability to add a richness to the paint finish…

DSC_2354

DSC_2355

DSC_2356

The ONLY picture I had of it completed, below me making a goofy face…  I’d photo a few more but it sold already :)

DSC_3613a

If you’re in the Detroit area,  visit our paint studio – we fully stock

American Paint Company  /Chalk/Mineral paints/finishes

CeCe Caldwell Clay/Chalk/Mineral paints/finishes

Caromal Colours Artisan Collection and Reclaim Paints

 Specialty Finishing products

metallics, dimensional plasters, waxes, powder pigments, glazes, gilding supplies

One Stop Shopping

brushes, drill brushes, stencil brushes, sandpaper, whizz rollers

Fabulous Finishes Retail Studio

51350 Van Dyke Rd,  Shelby Twp MI 48316

or find us online

WWW.SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM  – we gotcha covered

Leave a Reply

