A Fireplace Mantle, Transformed, The Chalk and Clay Paint Way…

A deliciously detailed fireplace surround

DSC_2373

I had no idea where I was going with it,   except that it WOULD include paint, and more than likely a neutral color.

I decided to use a mix of colors – light grays and soft whites, maybe add some dark wax – I’ll start there.

I started by brushing out some CeCe Caldwell Pittsburgh Gray

DSC_2374

and over that wet Pitts gray I brushed more paint, this time American Paint Company’s Smoke Signal.   Having  two natural chalk and clay lines of paint available to me is a nice luxury,   it allows me many more colors to pick and choose from -

DSC_2375

DSC_2377

DSC_2378

DSC_2399

DSC_2379

When that dried I brushed some American Paint Company Rushmore  and Home Plate, brushing some water into the mix to create more of a blended wash.   Don’t be afraid to introduce some water to the mix –  I DONT like to add water on the first coat, unless I’m going for WASHED look, but I always use water on the second coat – it helps get that paint moving and spread rate is better too.   In some areas I brushed on some Elmers Glue then over that painted the Home Plate –  brushing paint over the wet glue (lightly) will dry to crackles.

After the paints dried I sanded, I wet wiped, I mouse sanded….

DSC_2942

until I got it right…

DSC_2946

This mantle transformed before my eyes – when I sanded over some of the glue ‘crack’ areas I ripped into the layers below, and it created the coolest, funkiest look,  not to mention it revealed a POP of red, which I swear wasn’t there when I started…   it just added to the beauty

DSC_2949

Sanding is my preferred method of revealing the under layers…

DSC_2950

DSC_2952

Sanding over area’s that weren’t 100% dry…

DSC_2953

Couldn’t replicate again if I tried – that’s the beauty of this all, isn’t it?DSC_2955

I love how authentically O L D and original it looks – you’d never know it started brown…

DSC_2959

Sealed with APC Topcoat Finish, or you can use CeCe Caldwell Satin Finish – both are water based, easy brush on finishes that seal up your chalk/clay paint finish, quick and easy -

DSC_2962

It sold the first day it hit the showroom.  One of my customers is going to use it in her master bedroom -

DSC_2966

It is still in the showroom until the customer’s space is ready for it – it looks so pretty on my wall I’ll really hate to see it go…

DSC_2967

On  a similar note, I wanted to turn this vintage wall piece into a crusty old looking piece  – it originally was a stained brown wood piece.   This time I used American Paint Freedom Hill (darkest gray), American Paint Co Plymouth Rock (white with hint of gray) and Navajo White (soft white) –  and glue for the cracks.

DSC_3201

Brush the glue on where you want some crackling then immediately brush over it with your chalk/clay paint color – as it dries it will crackle :)   I demo the glue/crackle in this video Crackling A Nightstand 

DSC_3202

DSC_3205 DSC_3209 DSC_3210

The dark in the crevices is the darker paint beneath, that wasn’t completely covered from lighter colors over top.

DSC_3211 DSC_3212

DSC_3220

If those two projects don’t have you inspired to combo some of the chalk/clay paint colors,  here is my old dining room mirror.  It WAS gold.  It IS huge. It IS heavy…..

DSC_3197

I first coated it with CeCe Beckley Coal ( a black)  then American Paint Company Navajo White  over top – sanded back and wet wiped some, then sealed with  APC Topcoat Finish – DSC_3193

I chose the Topcoat Finish over a Wax topcoat for ease of use.  This is one big mirror (4 x 5) and I didn’t feel like scrubbing on a wax then going back later to buff it out – the Topcoat Finish was a quick brush on coat, one layer was enough to seal the paint, leaving it matte, but still popping the true colors of the chalk/clay paints-

DSC_3194

DSC_3195

DSC_3362The key to using these chalk/clay paints?  Play with them – try them out, combo color,  brush wet into wet, add water – see what you get – and if you’re anything like me, you’ll want to keep playing and tweeking until you get the JUST perfect finish :)

YouCanDoAnything

ARE YOU READY TO JOIN IN ON A WORKSHOP?

July is sold out, but I just posted my August weekly workshop schedule  –  you can find it   here

ARE YOU READY TO GET your paint on?

We are a full service retailer

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS ARTISIAN COLLECTION

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

One response to “A Fireplace Mantle, Transformed, The Chalk and Clay Paint Way…

  1. Reblogged this on Trent River Designs and commented:
    This is one talented lady!

Leave a Reply

