Yes, We Painted That Tile You Just Walked In On… Shout Out To Chalk/Clay Paint Lovers…

When I moved into our new location in February I asked the landlord if I could paint the tiled front entry

DSC_2726

He didn’t care what I did  (he probably thought I was nuts to paint it).   If money grew on trees, I’d have ripped the tile AND carpet out, replacing it with wood,  but HELLO,  that was not in the budget :)

At the last store I had painted the bathroom laminate floor and it held up awesome.  I used my go-to paint for questionable surfaces – Caromal Colours Textured Basecoats.  It’s the most versatile paint I’ve ever used -  like painting with whippy peanut butter.

Last month I was bouncing all over the place, and in the middle of everything I looked at the floor and decided,  Time to Paint!

PRODUCTS USED:

  • Tape
  • Whizz roller and tray
  • 2 1/2 inch  Chip brushes
  • Layer 1&2 – Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Peppercorn
  • Layer 3 – American Paint Company Freedom Road and Smoke Signal
  • Sandpaper
  • Stencil
  • American Paint Company Navajo White (for stenciling)
  • American Paint Company Topcoat Finish
  • Minwax Wipe-on Poly Satin Finish

I taped off 1/2 the 6×5 entry – the other 1/2 I’d paint later, that way people could still enter and exit the store -

DSC_3608

I cleaned the tile up with Simple Green and some liquid dish soap, then grabbed the Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Peppercorn

DSC_3609

for some reason I took a photo of the time, too -  maybe to keep track of how long it took -

DSC_3610

Roll the first coat out, with a textured type roller – whizz,  low nap – whatever you’d like to call it-

DSC_3611

Just rollin, rollin, rollin….

DSC_3612

d

Rolled out one coat, which covered pretty darn good, but I wanted to be SURE I had a good base so I dried it w/the blowdryer (it dries quick anyway) and then gave it another quick roll-

DSC_3614

Drying…

DSC_3615

That took a little over 1/2 hour…

DSC_3616

When that dried I switched to one of my chalk/clay paint lines  -  American Paint Company – and grabbed color Freedom Road, a dark charcoal gray.  Using a cheapy chip brush (we sell those too, in all sizes)  I scrubbed the paint onto one tile

DSC_3617

Can’t forget the time, right?

DSC_3618

Also grabbed American Paint Co’s color Smoke Signal, a lighter gray – I wanted to do a check pattern -

DSC_3619

I focused on brushed the tiles, and staying off the grout, just for consistency…

DSC_3620

Wonder what time it is…

DSC_3621

DSC_3623

Love how the chalk/clay paints look when their drying – so Monet like…

DSC_3625

Almost there…

DSC_3626

DSC_3627

When the paint dried, which didn’t take long at all (especially with a blow dry present) I grabbed some 150 sand paper and started sanding the tiles -

DSC_3629

Sanding quickly knocks off the very topmost surface of the chalk/clay paint, AND more importantly reaches  down to that yummy black texture and reveals it – I think if you click on this photo below you’ll be able to see what I’m talking about-

DSC_3630

When the sanding was complete I grabbed a stencil – one of my big ones (and big price) -  I wanted to dress the tiles up but wanted it to be super quick and easy, the big stencil allowed me to cover a large area.

Fat stencil brush,  some American Paint color Navajo White (a soft white) and some peanut butter and apples for energy – I got busy

DSC_3631

DSC_3633

One section at a time, until its all covered -

DSC_3634

Once everything was dry I rolled on a  coat of American Paint Co Topcoat Finish

DSC_3635

When I use the chalk/clay paints and want a nice, hard,  sealed surface I like to use either the Topcoat Finish by APC or the Satin Finish by CeCe Caldwell. Both are brush or roll on and when it dries you’re done.

DSC_3636

The Topcoat Finish reminds of  a milky water – its super easy to roll out, even to brush out, and I don’t feel the need to add water to thin it.   It dries with more matte than the Satin Finish does -  and it dries quick.

DSC_3637

That first coat over the raw paint is important to me – the paints are so absorbent I don’t like using  topcoats like poly’s over them – at  least not until I FIRST seal it up following their system  aka) Topcoat Finish.   If you try both you’ll see what I’m talking about – using topcoats like poly  over the RAW  chalk/clay paints will want to soak in and disappear – APC’s Topcoat Finish not only soaks in but also stays on top when it’s applied, then dries matte.

DSC_3639

DSC_3642

Because this is our entry floor I wanted extra protection, so once I got the ‘initial’ coat of sealer aka Topcoat Finish on, and once dry, I used Minwax’s Wipe on Poly (satin oil version) – and wiped on 2 coats of that.  That also allowed the final finish more sheen -

DSC_3646

DSC_3673

DSC_3677

Want to hear a funny?   I think more customers than not don’t even realize the floor when they enter!

DSC_3683

So how’s it holding up?  Fabulous of course…   if you getting into painting, and dig the chalk /clay paints, then you GOTTA get your hands on some Caromal Textured Basecoat paint and start playing.

This is a great combo finish for tile, for counters, backsplashes, damaged sections of furniture… it’s a great finish for a whole piece of furniture!

Here are 20 samples that we created using Caromal Colours Textured Basecoats as the first layer and American Paint Company chalk/clay paint colors over top

DSC_4226

DSC_4228

We’ve done the same with our CeCe Caldwell Chalk/Clay paints as well.  The possibilities are limitless, try it!

If you’re a chalk/clay paint retailer, and are interested in adding these fabulous paints to your line up,  give me a shout (you can find my contact info on my contact page) – there is no required minimums to get started!

DSC_3613a

If you’re in the Detroit area,  visit our paint studio – we fully stock

American Paint Company  /Chalk/Clay/Mineral paints/finishes

CeCe Caldwell Clay/Chalk/Clay/Mineral paints/finishes

Caromal Colours Artisan Collection and Reclaim Paints

 Specialty Finishing products

metallics, dimensional plasters, waxes, powder pigments, glazes, gilding supplies

One Stop Shopping

brushes, drill brushes, stencil brushes, sandpaper, whizz rollers

Fabulous Finishes Retail Studio

51350 Van Dyke Rd,  Shelby Twp MI 48316

find us online

WWW.SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM  

we gotcha covered

linking up to these great blog reads:

TheSundayShowoff

9040245770_239aca1e4e

OurSundayBestButton2

homemaker_01

1Clever Chicks Blog hop

8 responses to “Yes, We Painted That Tile You Just Walked In On… Shout Out To Chalk/Clay Paint Lovers…

  1. looks great! you are so talented!! – may i ask … what is the “big price” on that stencil? and is it available? also, do you have a smaller one available too in the French writing? thanks!

  2. hi Trish, that stencil is from Royal Design Studio – you can find them online – I think when I ordered it, it was 80 or 85 and shipping brought it too $100… thats the only size THAT one comes in. I DO carry another line of stencils that are more affordable – they offer 2 differentl writing ones and the prices on each are (stretching the Sunday night brain here…) I think around $40? You’d have to call in to order those, or email me and i can send you photos /prices. We have them in the store for instore shoppers….

  3. what a great idea and love the stencil. What a first impression the entry into your wonderful business. Keep posting all your great results. Really enjoy seeing them and a great inspiration you are to us all.

  4. Absolutely stunning! So cool! Love your work Patty!

  5. So, the paint is REALLY that durable? It looks so good. What a way to transform that old ceramic tile without the pain of the whole chisel thing. Plus, I wouldn’t have to wait on my husband!!

    • lol Tammy, that wouldnt be smart of me, to lay that at the entrance of the store if it was going to look like poo in a short amount of time :) and think of this, in my house we dont wear shoes – here EVERYONE comes and goes with shoes on….

Leave a Reply

