My First Official Caromal Colours Workshop Goes Off With A POP…

Fireworks you ask?  No, the POP noise was an occasional circuit breaker tripping from the multiple blow dryers used to speed dry our layers of distress.  But I do think that everyone was pretty excited about the products at the end of the evening.

Thing is, I had the circuits mapped out in our basement so I could see exactly where I would be able to run power for the blow dryers.  I had Jon  add 2 more circuits so that we could manage up to ten blow dryers, whooshing away at once.   Still popped circuits now and then… aarrggh.

All in all, the evening went well. I was really excited to see the reactions to the Caromal Colours Distressing Products.  After showing them the various furniture and cabinetry pieces that I’d done in my own home,  I went to work .  I’m really thankful that I thought to take a few photos before hand,  and then a round once we started, because after a certain point, things start moving real fast and theres no time to grab a camera and capture it-

Before we the evening started

Before we the evening started

dsc_4998-desktop-resolution

Cool down the table view!

Cool down the table view!

My demo area, and numerous hanging Glazy Days and Classic Plaster samples hanging from the wall.

My demo area, and numerous hanging Glazy Days and Classic Plaster samples hanging from the wall.

dsc_5006-desktop-resolution

Oak cabinet door panels distressed

Oak cabinet door panels distressed

Barnworn (2 color) Distress samples to choose from

Barnworn (2 color) Distress samples to choose from

Mental note for next time:  Take photos of the final work that the attendee’s created.  There was quite a bit of variety – wish I could have caught it.   This Distressing Workshop was set up where , after I demo’d a door and explained the basics, each person applied a distressing finish on a photo frame.  Once this was complete we worked up a smaller trim piece using two colors and Caromal Colours Chipping Paste – this creates a Barnworn finish and is very eye catching.  One of the great things about working with product, with others, is the opportunity it gives you to look around and see what combinations others are trying.  I can’t tell you how many times one was saying to the other,  ” I like that one!”  or  “Thats really cool!”

Drying layers on the photo frame.

Drying layers on the photo frame.

dsc_5011-desktop-resolution

dsc_5012-desktop-resolution

We finished just at the 9pm hour, right on time!    All you  Metro Detroiters,  checkout the Detroit Free Press and Detroit News this weekend,  the Homestyle section to be exact.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that an article from Freelancer Jeanine Matlow will be published regarding Caromal Colours and Fabulous Finishes.  Wouldn’t that be      a w e s o m e????

Check out the recently added workshops that are scheduled through June.  Getting excited?  I know, it does that to you!

9 responses to “My First Official Caromal Colours Workshop Goes Off With A POP…

  1. Congratulations Patty, looks beautiful and fun!!!

  2. Ahhhh man… how fun does that look? Looks like your basement is perfect for that gathering also. Love the long table view…. I bet it was a blast!!!!

    Jennifer

  3. Wow! Looks awesome! Glad it went so well!

  4. Good Job, I see you have a few more to do. How you get the Hair Dryer thing worked out. Looks like you guys had alot of fun. Keep up the good work.

    Jenney

  5. Good Job, I see you have a few more to do. Hope you get the Hair Dryer thing worked out. Looks like you guys had alot of fun. Keep up the good work.

    Jenney

  6. OMG! You have some fabulous eye candy on your blog. Thanks for stopping by mine and for your vote and comment. I’m off to look around yours some more!

  7. Have fun at your workshop tonight Patty!!

Leave a Reply

