No, Don’t Tell Me The Holiday Season Is Almost Over!

Last Friday I couldn’t wait to finish up my last job so that I could move on to the good stuff –   enjoying this holiday season.   I posted on FB that my moment was about to arrive, and my nephew commented,

Don’t look now, but its almost over……sadly enough.


That little bit of reality kind of bummed me out, but I won’t let it snow out my parade. No, I am going to make the most of these next couple weeks.
Our colorful tree (remember we lost our box of white lights this year?)  is naked no more.  I’m still not used to it, but the kids love it –
See the blue and pink bear up near the top right?  I posted about their meaning , last year,  here
It looks cooler with no flash –
Nothing under it yet.  We headed out, after church this past Sunday, to finish the shopping.  The kids came along.   I was bummed I didn’t have my camera  (do you fellow bloggers get this feeling alot? It’s funner to tell stories with photos…)
Mark and the kids stayed in the car, at one stop,  and took bets on how long it would take for me to come out.  At the mall, the ‘boys’ hung out on the rail, or benches, while Julia and I tackled the store crowds.  Again,  they amused themselves guessing how long we would take.
Who was the worst sport?  Nick hands down.  (I think the ‘standing in a mile long line at Aeropostale‘ did him in).  This near 14 year old was melting down  like a 4 year old.   Oh well,  I NEEDED to get everything done,  no way I want to go back this week.   Mark was cute – I KNOW he wanted to let loose a few times –  like when it took me 20 minutes to decide which wrapping paper rolls we should pick… if it was up to him,  he’d have chosen the first available, even if it was Hanukkah paper.
Everything is sorted and waiting to be wrapped.  The kids will help  me tonight – they love wrapping.   They are in school right now (Tuesday) –  after today they will be on holiday break.   Tomorrow we’ll make cookies, cutting out holiday shapes…

AND WHO SAID THE HOLIDAYS ARE ALMOST OVER?

4 responses to “No, Don’t Tell Me The Holiday Season Is Almost Over!

  1. Enjoy, enjoy, while they are young! They grow up and have their own kids before you can turn around. 🙂

    Love you guys and have a Merry Christmas if I don’t talk to you before then!

    Donna

  2. MERRY CHRISTMAS, Patty.
    A Blessed Christmas to you and yours.

  3. This same comment was brought up at mass on Sunday. Our Priest stated that the Holiday is not almost over, it hasn’t started yet! The Holiday Season is Dec 25 thru Jan 6, he also asked that next year we should all decorate and put our Tree’s up on Christmas Eve, and hold all the parties and programs from Dec 25 thru Jan 6. Something to think about! We may try that next year and hope to remember “The Reason for the Season!” Just thought I would share.

    A very Merry Christmas to you and your Family!

    Jenney

    • I am humbled by your post, Jenney – that IS exactly what this Season is all about – not the riggamaroo that happens the month before, but God’s gift to us, in the form of his own Son that would eventually give His life to save us all……

      This year has brought many enough challenges, some old, many new… I can’t say I’m proud of how I handled them all… I think this New Year’s Eve will be one full of well thought out resolutions….

      Merry Christmas to you all as well!!!

Leave a Reply

