Mixing Caromal Colours Visually…

Did  you  know you can mix the Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat colors to create new ones?

Peppercorn and Wisteria make shades of grey-

Bayberry, Wisteria, and Colonial Blue create a lighter Robin’s Egg Blue –

Lets see,   Bayberry and Mustard make yuk  🙂 ,  Paprika  and Mustard makes Pumpkin (already have that) –

Chocolate and Putty takes you beige/taupe –

Paprika and Chocolate make …. brown-red?

Pumpkin and Chocolate make a Harvest Brown…

Pumpkin and Antique Parchment make a  lighter creamsicle –

Cobblestone and Antique Parchment make a warm Celery –

I was a little curious about those Pumpkin-mix colors…  First I mixed up the Pumpkin / Chocolate mix and brushed one layer over an old beat up door-

Then I mixed up the lighter creamsicle color using Pumpkin and Antique Parchment, and brushed one layer on the other spot of cabinet door-

Sanding-

Toning –

Wiping off the Toner-

A Pumpkin door, toned,  is on the left – then the 2 custom shades I just demo’d – Pumpkin with Antique Parchment,   and Pumpkin with Chocolate  – then a Chocolate door, toned.

If you are the type to dabble in mixing your own shades,  then my advice is mix and test on foam plates.   I tend to use my finger to swipe and swirl colors.  As you mix,  keep track of what you are doing.   This way you’ll know how you got to your desired color.    The Pumpkin/Chocolate I tried was more Pumpkin, and less Chocolate.     Save that sample plate and use it as your guide for re-mixing more color, if the need ever arises.  I do this for almost all of my professional jobs – I keep swipes of color (on plate or index cards)  on the job with me, and when I am done it gets filed in the clients folder.  

Playing around with color is fun, and easy to do. Just remember if you decide to use a mixed color on a cabinet or piece of furniture,  you will have to mix up enough color for the project.  If you aren’t sure what you’ll need,  and begin painting and realize you are going to run out, then I’d be smart about where I start and stop. For instance, if I am going to repaint a dresser, and I mix up a robin’s egg blue color, and I paint the top and side and now I’m wondering if I will have  enough for the whole piece, I’d stop there and remix more color (using my color sample on the plate).  I wouldn’t start on the front of the dresser – because if I run out, I wouldnt want to have to start part of the front with a new mixed batch.     Dont’ forget to have fun!

Leave a Reply

