When Church Songs Really Move You…

On the way to church today, we discussed the parable of the fig tree, and thinking points from this post earlier today where, during Lent,  I am trying to ‘pre-read’ the gospel before mass.

At mass this morning  our priest read the gospel.   It WASN’T Luke 13:1-9  !!   Huh?   At first I got glances from my husband and kids, because the reading was about  the woman of Samaria  (Jn 4:5-42 or 4:5-15, 19b-26, 39a, 40-42) not Luke that I had pre-read.      I  followed “Year C” instead of “Year A” – because my google results showed that the 2010 Liturgical Calendar Cycle was “C”.

I don’t get why our church did A instead of C?    Oh well, not like talking about if we’re bearing fruit or not was a bad thing.   We needed a reading pertaining to PATIENCE.   I got several more glances (and one set of rolling eyes) from my kids because the reading was really long.   I even started to wonder if maybe our priest hadn’t tacked on more verses just because he likes to talk alot…    that’s awful to think that.   It goes back to the   “We are only at mass one hour – can we NOT give one hour of our week to give thanks and praise to our Lord?” ….   I need to listen to what I preach to my own kids.

What I REALLY took away from service today?   The feelings I felt when I sang this song, by Matt Maher,   for Communion –

O let all who thirst
Let them come to the water
And let all who have nothing
Let them come to the Lord
Without money, without price
Why should you pay the price
Except for the Lord?

And let all who seek
Let them come to the water
And let all who have nothing
Let them come to the Lord
Without money, without strife
Why should you spend your life
Except for the Lord?

And let all who toil
Let them come to the water
And let all who are weary
Let them come to the Lord
All who labor without rest
How can your soul find rest
Except for the Lord?

And let all the poor
Let them come to the water
And let the ones who are laden
Let them come to the Lord
Bring the children without might
Easy the load and light
Come to the Lord

I hope it moves you as much as it does me.  Have a great week!

3 responses to “When Church Songs Really Move You…

  1. Pingback: Third Sunday Of Lent – Are WE Bearing Fruit? « Fabulously Finished

  2. Our church did the exact same thing! I’m not sure why, but maybe it was suggested by someone higher up (ie the bishops or a cardinal?). I just popped onto this page because I googled Come to the Water. I have to agree–it really makes me love being Catholic! (Matt Maher songs are good for that in general, though!)

  3. Cari, I noticed we are STILL on the wrong/right ‘year’… .whatever. I’ll have to search more of Matt’s songs – didn’t appreciate Christian music until the last 5-10 years – now I can’t get enough of it!

Leave a Reply

