Toiletpaper Back In Place… Updated Bathroom Hardware and A Crackled Mirror…

I posted last about the toilet paper hardware-

I started gold leafing  it at my Caromal Colour Gilding workshop and wanted to finish PRONTO so the bathroom would be back in order.    I decided to update the mirror as well –

It seems to have changed color over the years, taking on an orange cast.  I decided to brush a Faux Effects  crackle size on it –

When it was ready, I brushed on Faux Effects Stain and Seal (Ebony color) –

and watched it crack….

I finished gold leafing the hardware and hung it back on the wall-

I brushed some brown glaze over the crackle..  that didn’t do it…. I brushed some metallic gold into it… that didn’t satisfy my urge… I brushed black glaze over all of that,  said,  ‘Screw it’  and hung it back up-

Liking it better than the orange gold, but it’s still not where I want it to be, so I’m fiddling again –

MORE Aquacrackle Size….  *sigh.

Stay tuned.

If you like that hardware update, and would like to see how its done head to this post on Simple Gilding Instructions.

One response to “Toiletpaper Back In Place… Updated Bathroom Hardware and A Crackled Mirror…

  1. Hardware tools are add the fabulous look in interior design. Just like if we use kitchen hardware then it looks like modular kitchen.

Leave a Reply

