Specialty Finishing Topcoats – Salad Bowl Finish

I was looking through my Rockler catalog and I noticed that General Finishes makes a Salad Bowl Finish – a food safe surface finish.

It says it-

Creates a beautiful and safe finish on wooden bowls, cups, spoons, countertops and butcher blocks or any wood surface that contacts food.  Easy to apply, just wipe on with a soft clean rag.  Achieves the sheen and resistance of a varnish.  Dried film is non-toxic for food contact 72 hours after drying.  Additional coats can be re-applied at any time if maintenance of item becomes necessary.  Also safe for children’s furniture and wood toys.

I’ve had questions in the past about using the Caromal Colours paints on kitchen items like platters, bowls – even countertops – and the concern about how to protect but not be toxic?  This may be a great topcoat option.

Now, I’ve never used this product, so I thought I’d share some of the 19 reviews that it has received on Rockler’s site –

I don’t mind sharing products that have great reviews like this!   If you’ve ever used this, I’d love to hear what you thought.

Prices:

Rockler $15.99 quart

Klingspor’s $18.95 quart

Woodcraft $15.50 quart    Sale Price $13.17 through June 26,2010


3 responses to “Specialty Finishing Topcoats – Salad Bowl Finish

  1. OMG…I was just at a clients yesterday looking at a crib.Both ends had been gnawed by the now toddler. Baby #2 is on the way and the client wanted to know if I could repair this beautiful crib. Won’t be difficult now that I have the perfect topcoat!!!!

  2. Pingback: Caromal Colour Can I…Dining Tables And Topcoats « Fabulously Finished

Leave a Reply

