You Know It’s Sunday, Regaining Childlike Faith…

I read a nice devotion by Brooke Keith, a guest writer over at CBN, about Regaining your Childlike Faith

If we stop for a moment, closing our eyes tightly, we can all look back to a time when we had no worries and no cares. Were we only oblivious to the world around us because of our innocence or as children were just more tuned in to God?

…When I shut my eyes tightly, I could see all those days I played without worry. I could see all those times I nearly stumbled over those fences — yet never fell….

Reading her story, I found I was able to do the same – shut my eyes and think back to times when I was a child running care-free and without worry.

She talks about adult life –

…As I grew older and had children of my own, all those worries that I never knew came rushing to greet me. I had a child with asthma. I had bills on the table and moments I didn’t know where our next meal would come from. It was then that I allowed all those worries to overtake me. I felt defeated.

She reminds us of what is real –

No matter where I went and what I did, I knew God was there and that gave me the strength to go through uncharted territories of the woods and to stand in the darkness. When I opened my eyes, the words of Psalm 23:4 began to echo in my mind:

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of darkness, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

And she offers this –

So, the next time you feel yourself caught up in the fear of the world, close your eyes tightly for a moment — envision that child who walked without looking over their shoulders; the person you were before the world took it’s toll on your spirit. Today I pray that as you approach those trees in your life that remain unclimbed, you will grab onto a branch and go to new heights. I pray that despite those fences you are afraid of, you will know that even if you stumble, God will never let you fall. And most of all, I pray, that as you walk through the darkness, you will know that even when the moon goes behind the clouds, you still have “the light of the world” right beside you every step of the way.

If you enjoyed this, please head over CBN and read her whole devotion.  I just bookmarked the Spiritual Life Daily Devotions page – it offers a seemingly endless list of short devotions, sorted by author –

Happy Sunday!





3 responses to “You Know It’s Sunday, Regaining Childlike Faith…

  1. Dear Debra,

    Thank you for sharing my devotional with your readers. I was just surfing Word Press on this lazy Saturday and ran across this. You are very talented and your work is truly lovely. May God bless you as you use your talents for Him and share His word with the world!

    In Him,

    Brooke

  2. I mean Miss Patty! I’m on brain fog today.

  3. Thank you Brooke – I really connected with your perspective on life and God’s presence in it. Glad to be able to share it – Happy Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

