Glazed Kitchen Walls, And An Updated Fixture…

Forgot to get a good before picture of the nook pendant light –

the finish color didn’t work.  I basepainted it with Setcoat Black-

Then applied a couple different Modern Masters Metallic Paints, wet on wet-

The flat white walls,  were basecoated with HC-25 Benjamin Moore Quincy Tan-

I used several tinted colors of Aquacreme glaze and came up with this sample  that would work, if I added a little more dark brown to it-

The glazing began-

I glazed…

and glazed…

and glazed…

and glazed some more…

Okey, I admit, I thought I’d be finished way before I actually was…

… I hate when that happens 🙂

Yay, ALMOST done!

Voila!  I love glazed walls – a nice soft subtle backdrop –

Do your walls need some lovin?

5 responses to “Glazed Kitchen Walls, And An Updated Fixture…

  1. Holy crap that is a big kitchen!

  2. Patty,
    My name is Dana and I’m a faux finisher. I was looking over your blog and noticed this post about glazing a kitchen. I saw one of the pictures where it showed your buckets of paint and supplies and I was wondering about what you use to glaze. I use a whiz roller for my paint/glaze then cheesecloth. Looks like you use chip brushes and then a softening brush? Love the softness of your glaze! Can you enlighten me? Thanks so much! I also love your posts about Caramel Colors. I have horrible blue counter tops that I would love to paint. That is for another day!

    • Hi Dana,

      My favorite all around glaze is Aquacreme. Sometimes I apply it using whiz rollers – often you’ll find me using the same whiz to apply several different colors. I usually apply about 80-85% and then stipple it , wet to dry, so that it blends out nicely, then I’ll work the next section. Other times I’ll use chip brushes and lay on the color/s same way – about 80-85% then stipple to blend. Sometimes I use a badger brush to soften the look, I used to use cheesecloth to soften but I find it takes longer.
      Glad you enjoy the Caroaml! patty

    • Hi Dana,

      My favorite all around glaze is Aquacreme. Sometimes I apply it using whiz rollers – often you’ll find me using the same whiz to apply several different colors. I usually apply about 80-85% and then stipple it , wet to dry, so that it blends out nicely, then I’ll work the next section. Other times I’ll use chip brushes and lay on the color/s same way – about 80-85% then stipple to blend. Sometimes I use a badger brush to soften the look, I used to use cheesecloth to soften but I find it takes longer.
      Glad you enjoy the Caromal! patty

    • How did I miss replying to this? I”m so sorry –

      I use all kinds of app’s with glazing . Most often I use aquacreme – sometimes I use fauxcreme, sometimes RS Glaze. Usually I use more than one tinted color – sometimes I whiz on the colors, usually about 80% then stipple it out with the ultimate stippler, other times I’ll chip it on – especially if I’m using more than 2 colors- then will blend it with stippler, or roller over it with a whiz to blend – then use chippy’s to move/soften.

      I love glazing now – but big walls still give me the twitches – I prefer having a helper to brush on the color for me on the big ones – so I don’t have to be pressured to fly …

Leave a Reply

