A Caromal Colours Formica Counter Makeover…

Kathy, over at Candlebarn Crafts, in Williamstown, KY, recently shared her laminate counter transformation using Caromal Colours Peppercorn

Hows that for a makeover?    Wow, a completely updated look, from one quart of paint –   can’t beat that!

Are you looking to paint your counters?  Head to my Painting Counters post.

14 responses to “A Caromal Colours Formica Counter Makeover…

  1. Patty,
    I love these kind of transformations! When things settle down we should get together for lunch. I’m sure you figured out my life has been a bit crazy lately. The man who is Heather’s donor lives near Romeo! I’m pretty sure it’s not far from you. His wife Kayren discovered my blog through a Grand Rapids blogger…I have to give credit where credit is due. Great Lake Bloggers Rock!
    I’m off to do the hospital run for the evening. Take care.
    Cathy

    • I would love that Cathy… I had no idea what was going on until I read your recent post – I think that is the perfect example of human love and kindness – and unselfishness – coming forward to help , touching/effecting lives forever. You are an amazing mom! talk soon, patty

  2. I love the new look!!! Keep it up!!

    Miss you,
    Jenn

  3. thanks Jenn, I wish the distance between us was shorter so we could visit easily! 😦

  4. Pingback: Have You Seen This Counter Stuff? Giani Granite … | Fabulously Finished

  5. Pingback: White Melamine Cabinets Painted Red (Caromal Colours) | Fabulously Finished

  6. Pingback: A Plain Jane Formica White Gets Caromal Coloured… | Fabulously Finished

  7. Hi, love your blog and info! question about the counter top re-do? regarding the not getting water on the counter for 7 days, how did you manage that or do you have suggestions for painting the counter top then doing the min wax, and then how long should it dry ? and between coats? we have 4 kids, so staying dry for 7 days seems impossible but we want are selling our home and need to give the kitchen a face lift. My husband is skeptical of the process and worried it will get destroyed by little fingers and/or water. Thanks, Heather Karas.

    • Hi Heather, Sorry about the delay – i jumped ahead answering questions, and missed some from going out of order..

      Glad you like it here 🙂 Did I say that – to not get water on counter for 7 days? I don’t ever recall that one – I’m wondering if that was off the lady’s blogs that painted their counters?

      The Caromal Colours textured basecoats dry relatively quick if rolled on – and you’re rolling on the counters with a whizz roller – its not a thick application. When I did that last vanity (https://fabulousfinishes.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/a-plain-jane-formica-white-gets-caromal-coloured/) I rolled on the first coat, then let fully dry – about 4 hrs later I rolled on the second layer. next day I lightly sanded it then added glaze etc on top to make it pretty. I let that dry then next day poly’d it – I’d wait 2-3 hours between wipe-on poly coats and 6 hours between if you’re using a full strength poly. The wipe-on is thinner than regular poly, so it dries quicker – I like the wipe-on because its easy, and MOA free…but because of this, I’d apply a minimum of 3 coats – no brainer because it will go very quick. Just keep your counters free and clear , apply first layer, put can off to side, several hours later wipe them again, repeat…..

      So – this is what I’d do – clean counters, roll on first coat in morning, later that day roll on coat 2. only time you’ll have to worry about kidlets is within the first hour or so after app. but stay off it. the next day, light sand them, wipe off with dry rag, then either glaze etc, or begin topcoating. if wipe-on poly then wipe on a layer, then wait 2-3 hrs before next app… i’d apply at least 3 coats. It will DRY to touch w/in 2-3 hours, so you dont have to worry about your kid smudging – so, say next day, you put cup on it – shouldnt do anything – butttttttttttttttttttttt i’d try to be very careful for the first couple weeks – reason being – most paints etc take TIME to cure – cure meaning fully fully dry, inside out, harden up, become strong….. early on, it can risk scratching or gouging. the water? i think once the poly is dry 24 hours, if you spattered water on it, just wipe it off – my worry would be gouging, or dragging, or heavy appliances sitting on top – leave all that off – Trust me Heather, it will be well worth it to give a fresh update to your counters, with one quart of paint and a tin can of wipe-on poly – hope this helps!

  8. Vicki Tibbetts

    I am wondering about the lady with the above counter make-over’s counter has help up? Is there a lot of chipping happening by now? I want to do my counters, but I am worried about chipping or scratching on the kitchen counter?

    • I had to chuckle a little at this ‘Is there a lot of chipping happening by now?’:) Vicki, a good six or so years I did a painted finish on several formica counters in our basement – one was the bathroom down there (our basement is finished and it is where my kids, now 15 and almost 14, have hung out with their buds) that has gotten tons of use, and the whole back bar area that bottles of liqueur sit on. Needless to say we’ve had many hootin and hollerin parties down there as well. Those counters have stood the test of time – I don’t have chipping, there might be a scratch on one from a candle holder that didn’t have felt on its under part – but for all intensive purposes, they look great – WAY better than the mint green color formica they were before. Now, granted, I used different products on those counters and it was much more involved, but the basis for that system was the same as this – the first product down (after cleaning surface) was a GOOD durable paint that was known for its bonding properties. I rolled the paprika and peppercorn Caromal Colours on my stand up freezer over two years ago – it hasn’t budged, and won’t – I didn’t even topcoat it (its in my basement storage so no one sees it). I couldn’t scratch it off if I tried.

      Here’s how I look at it – if your counters are ugly – stained, damaged, scratched, bad color – just tired and you cant stand it anymore and are planning on ripping them out, then you have an affordable option – keeping them in place and painting over them. Will it last a lifetime? Heck who knows – depends on on how you live. Can you be careless around them – sliding stuff all around, banging pots and pans, scraping plates etc etc – and have them not scuff up or eventually scratch? Probably not – but the Caromal textured basecoats are thicker than regular paint – 2 coats will give you a nice little barrier – and if you properly topcoat, you’ll have wipeable, washable counters that hold up under normal use.

      Another thought I always have in situations like this? If I did a bozo no-no and scratched up my counter by dragging something, or dropped a can or appliance, and chipped it – well guess what I can do? (hint – pull out you jar of Caromal Colours….)

  9. Vicki Tibbetts

    LOL!! Patty you crack me up. You are so right. I do have counters that I HATE and I think it is worth a try before attempting to do my own tiling (scary). I think it would be a cheap fix for now. This stuff sounds to good to be true and since I havent tried it I am skeptical still, but you have convinced me. :O) I will try it on my cabinets first then watch out counters here I come.

  10. Pingback: My Painted Formica Counters – Don’t Forget THIS! | Fabulously Finished

Leave a Reply

