A Plain Jane Formica White Gets Caromal Coloured…

The project continues…   a project, I realize, I’ve posted about backwards.

This job started with guest bedroom walls

that led to an attached bathroom’s cabinet update

which I did post about here

that then led to this white formica counter-

transforming to this

So … backwards I am because I  realized I’ve yet to post about the Guest Room Wall transformation

oh well,  that will come next.  This post is about that white formica counter, and how I used the Caromal Colours textured basecoat Wisteria to help me create a beautiful updated surface.

The original plan was to use CC Textured Basecoat color Putty – roll 2 coats on and then glaze.  Below you can see my ‘putty’ sample board, and then one section further decorated with various glazes –

See?  Even I do samples beforehand!  Always…. only way to get a visual of what you’re planning.

The designer felt the putty would be to dark, that client would prefer lighter, so I started with Wisteria, the white version of Caromal’s textured basecoats.  I taped, wiped the counter down with Simple Green

then stuck my whizz roller into the jar of paint, offloaded it onto a foam plate (didn’t want to dirty a paint tray) and began rolling it onto the surface-

I took my chip brush and pounced (bounced) it along the edges –

The bummer of this transformation is,  its white on white.  Sigh.  You could see what I was doing so much better if it was red on white, or white on black….  oh well.

I get the first coat on, 100% then let it dry.  Doesn’t take long – its applied thinly.   I then roll/ chip out  the second coat

After the second coat dried, I lightly sanded the surface – on the flat I used a 220 sand block-

and the edges I hit with a 220 sheet of sandpaper folded up-

Why sand?  Well, it will knock down any dust particles that blew into your finish, and more importantly , it just gives it a more finished look/feel  IMO.    Sanding this counter took me about 30 seconds total.

Then the fun began.  The designer had a piece of granite – and wanted to use that as inspiration

I mixed all kinds of stuff up from my studio shelves of tricks –   cream-colored glaze, light brown colored glaze

I started by laying a soft  base color , chipping on the browns and cream,  using both a sea sponge

and my handy dandy chip brush.  Those are great for bouncing in / on color.  You can use rags, bags,  anything you can think of –

Then, took some straight dark brown tint watered down –

and spattered that on using a chip brush

Then I stopped taking play by play pictures – got too involved in the creative process!

I  got to here,  by sponging / chipping on various glaze colors – earth brown, dark brown,  custom creme, and custom red,  and even added some RS Glaze Activator which allowed me to trowel on the glazes and create travertine looking pits-

I realize that crafty  homeowners don’t have the luxury of having shelves of finish products on their shelves to grab and use – so I don’t expect you’d copy this method –  BUT,  you certainly could use several colors of glaze, or even several colors of paint (cut them with water or glaze)  and layer/pattern your color, similarly.

For even more realistic punch,  head to Michael’s or any craft store and grab some of Krylon’s Webbing Spray-

it comes in a variety of colors – black, white, gold and silver.   Play with it first, on a poster board –  it is wild and random and quite fun!  If you shoot it out and too much blurts out, just take your chip brush and chip away the excess.

Trust me – using the WEbbing Spray, over your glaze,  will add a quite realistic stone look to your finish

WARNING!  The fiddle effect will set in on projects like this… it is easy to spend hours dipping, dabbing, chip chipping,  spatter, spatter,  psssshhhht,   pssssssssshhhhhhht!   (the can spraying veins….)

The final finish , after foam brushing on 2 coats of poly for protection

Not bad for white formica –

The Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat was the starting point – roll down two coats of this thicker paint, light sand it , then do whatever you desire over top.  Get creative.   Shoot veins.   Make it yours.   Update your old surface, affordably.  I love the textured basecoats – the finish will dry and you will be left with a slight stipply finish – just like the new, higher end laminate counters.

To learn more about it,  head to this post on updating your counters.

For more information about the Caromal Colours distressing paints

For Caromal Colour makeovers

To order sample colors

ARE YOU READY?

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

CaromalColoursAnimated125

7 responses to “A Plain Jane Formica White Gets Caromal Coloured…

  1. Gorgeous Patty! Love this, love this! Very creative use of the Caromal Colours along with other products!

    • Vicki- its all in the webbing 🙂 We usually discuss other products in my workshops – things that DIY’ers can get their hands on (not proprietary stuff) – possibilities are almost endless

  2. Pingback: Caromal Textured Basecoat Putty Basecoat Sample Over Formica… | Fabulously Finished

  3. Great effect on the counter top. wish i could do this stuff but im hopeless at this sort of thing.

  4. ever try? amazing how creative one can get – i’ve seen so many folks, thus far, that had no faith in their ability to even brush a picture frame, and then they create a cool finish!

  5. Hi Patty, How did u get the shine on the final counter top? I have a counter top and shelve all in one it looks like an old imitation marble and is scratched would this product stick to it?

  6. Pingback: Shelby DIY TV #7 – Simple Countertop Paint Finishes | Fabulously Finished

Leave a Reply

