Good Friday Sitting In A Waiting Room…

I’m up early this Good Friday morning…    sitting at Beaumont Hospital with my laptop – my hubster needs minor eye surgery so I am the designated driver.

My intent is to catch up – quiet laptop time, on hospital Wi-Fi.  Good deal.

I was reading email – one was a daily devotional I receive from Crosswalk’s Girlfriends in God.     Today’s devotion was by Gwen Smith,  titled Learning to Breathe. She talks about childbirth and learning how to breathe in Lamaze class.  How through our living we have many trials and tribulations that could be likened to labor pain –

…When the waves of trials hit our heart and home, the spiritual discipline of trusting God helps us to breathe through the squeeze of each pressure…

God is always with us and will help us breathe through the difficult situations we face. He allows us to go through trials as a part of our refining process. Struggles send us running to God for help, for faith, for strength, for protection and direction. They are often pregnant with pain. Bursting with heartache. If we yield them to God, He uses them to rid our lives of trust-barriers like fear and doubt, and to bring glory and honor to him.

There are many life contractions that hurt us, but there is no earthly pain that can diminish the hope of our salvation…

I like that analogy.

Sure life is often care free and easy, but more often than not, we are faced with challenges.  Contractions.   Is it easy to put our trust in Him, and be worry free?  Not for me, I struggle with this all the time – feel like I must be doing something WRONG because I’m not doing what I know I should be doing! (putting my faith and trust in Him)

This was for us…

Good Friday…     a day we Christians commemorate the suffering and death on the cross of our Lord, Jesus Christ.    God’s only son who had to die so that he could pay for our sins and offer us eternal life through Him.     Nothing will overcome us, if we believe and put our trust in Him.

Good Friday…  a perfect time to reflect –

…One day they led Him up Calvary’s mountain
One day they nailed Him to die on a tree
Suffering anguish, despised and rejected
Bearing our sins, my Redeemer is He
Hands that healed nations, stretched out on a tree
And took the nails for me…

Living, He loved me
Dying, He saved me
Buried, He carried my sins far away
Rising, He justified freely forever
One day He’s coming
Oh glorious day

(Glorious Day, Casting Crowns)

One response to “Good Friday Sitting In A Waiting Room…

  1. ….by His wounds we are healed..
    Happy Easter to you, Patty!

Leave a Reply

