My Oak Dining Room Set Needs Caromal Black – But Which Line of Paint?

Our Thomasville dining room set  was one of the first early investments in our marriage.   A hutch , oval table and 6 chairs was purchased  for use in our kitchen, as our old home had a large nook area .  When we moved to our present home it took its place in the dining room.

Here it is this past December – bittersweet looking back at these photos – who’d have known that less than two weeks later my husband would be coming home from work, no longer employed –  after 32 long years?

The set needs to be updated-  I hate the honey oak, and want to paint it black, lightly distressing the edges.  My quandary is this – as much as I love painting,  I hate painting!   I don’t look forward to painting 6 chairs, a table with 2 leaves, and a china cabinet with a bunch of glass panels to tape off.

The Caromal Colours  Reclaim Licorice (black) is so tempting – quick, easy, and covers like tar …. I tried it on a chair ….

(Like those piles of Legos on the table?   Need to get those listed on eBay…. )

I love the Reclaim….

But,   I LOVE LOVE LOVE the  Caromal Colours Texture Basecoat finishes too.   Here the Peppercorn (black)-

Even though the Texture Basecoat will take a little more effort than the easier Reclaim,  I’m not going to compromise – I love the TB paints for furniture finishes.  The paints make it easy to create a soft, kicked back, custom looking finish with substance.  My dining room set has oak grain – and the sampling of Reclaim Licorice  did not cover the  existing grain pattern whereas the TB paint will hide the grain – in my case I’d prefer the grain be gone.

So –  wish me well – no clue when I’ll find the time, but you’ll be the first to see the updates!

For more information about the Caromal Colours textured basecoat Parchment and Caromal Colours Toner ,  head here   distressing paints

For Caromal Colour makeovers

To order sample colors

LET CAROMAL COLOURS ROCK YOUR world!

Head to my store   SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM   for all of your Caromal needs  – including perfect 8 ounce samplers of the Textured Basecoats – a great way to experiment with color combinations!

2 responses to “My Oak Dining Room Set Needs Caromal Black – But Which Line of Paint?

  1. Hi Patty,
    If I could pop up your way and help you paint your dining set, I would! It’s always easier to paint someone else’s stuff than your own. Just wanted to thank you. You are an inspiration in both creativity and faith.

Leave a Reply

