Lorna, At Primitive Peddler, Caromal’s Her Chairs…

This makeover started back in June.   Lorna commented on one of my Caromal posts-

Hi Patty,
I have been looking at several projects on your site and it just seems too good to be true. To look that good and be that easy!! I have tried for several years to get the look of layers of old paint, using crackle medium and several coats of paint but never got the look I was after.

I am wanting to redo my dining table and chairs, it is now red legs and stained top and the chairs are red with stained seats. I want to go with black with red underneath. I don’t want a build-up of paint on these, just a very distressed look without looking like layers of paint. I assume this can be achieved by using less basecoat or more sanding?

It currently has a water base varnish so I would just need to lightly sand or just clean well?
I came across a you tube video with the owner of the company doing a kitchen makeover and she used Simple Green to clean the cabinets? Would this be sufficient?

Thanks so much, I have gotten lots of ideas and info already!!

Lorna

I eased Lorna’s mind – no sanding was required, just start with a clean wax free surface.    Simply Green is great – so is Spic N Span…

Lorna detailed her project on her blog – you can read all about it here .

… I left the seat stained on the four chairs and painted all of the two extra chairs, the stain was chipped on the seats and I did not want to strip them. I used the Caromal Colours paint, that stuff is awesome!!   Here are the chairs afterward –

Love Those —  thanks for sharing, Lorna!

more about the Reclaim line of paints, head here.

For Caromal Colour makeovers

To order sample colors

LET CAROMAL COLOURS ROCK YOUR world!

Head to my store   SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM   for all of your Caromal needs  – including perfect 8 ounce samplers of the Textured Basecoats – a great way to experiment with color combinations!

Leave a Reply

