Add A Fabulous Finish To Mirrors And Frames With Caromal Colours Textured Paint…

Once again I have way too many photos to clear off my camera…   I realized several ‘projects’ involved mirror frame – what better way than to combine them all in one post!

One of the huge bonuses, I find, of having the Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat paints on my shelf is that they’re the perfect go-to paint when I need to update an accessory.  They are thick enough to use and create a new KILLER finish in as little as one layer.  The basecoat paints are perfect to swipe/drag across the old finish – and even better is when I drag several colors at the same time.

This was a lovely mirror from my mom that she no longer had a use for – typical gold frame finish.  I have already started painting the left side with Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Parchment

(I know, I’m getting it on the mirror – it will come off with a blade)

Lol, like my socks?

Once the dragged layer is dry I lightly run the mouse sander over it, to add some distressed interest

Then you brush a coat of Toner

and wipe off.   I’ll warn you,  when you wipe off, you’ll be blown away…

Brushing Toner on

I brushed one section at a time – could have brushed several

then wipe off

If you wipe hard, you get more off,  if you lightly dab your rag, you leave more on…  it totally pops the Caromal basecoats.   Of course, you don’t HAVE to use the Toner – you can leave it  untoned if you like the color –  once dry the Textured Basecoats are a ‘solid as a rock’ finish –

they don’t require a wax or topcoat to become durable…

The Textured Basecoats do, however, dry to a matte finish and the finish isnt sealed , so for those wanting  an added sheen, or want the surface to be washable, we recommend top coating with your favorite topcoat (we know mine is Minwax Wipe-On Poly).

Almost done   (where’d my socks go??)

Close up

Another –   I’m going to layer 2 colors, and use chipping creme in the middle.  Look closely, here I’m brushing on the Textured Basecoat Chocolate  – this layer I gave a more solid coat of paint, rather than a light dragging across –

after the Chocolate dries, I brushed on a coat of Chipping Creme

brushing this on in between my two coats of basecoat prevent the top color from bonding so solidly to the under color.  Brush on (milky color) and let dry (to near clear)

Now brush over that with Textured Basecoat Mustard – I applied a near solid coat of the Mustard, too – but you dont have to – you could dry brush it on and leave more of that Chocolate showing underneath –

Oops, didn’t get a photo of the sanding part, but when the Mustard was dry I used a piece of rough sand paper (80-120 grit)  to distress the paint – simply sand where you want and the brown will come through the yellow…  here I am brushing on the magical Toner

Voila!

Yumma –

– Licious!   Even love how some red came through in that distressing!  Never know what you’ll find under an original finish!

And another –  this one was that yellowish ‘bad gold’ color, all over, to start with.   I started by dragging some Textured Basecoat Parchment mixed with a light verdigris tint, and dragged in some Textured Basecoat Colonial Blue-

because the Textured Basecoats are thicker they stay put, and you can drag color into color, wet, and they don’t muddy

There isn’t a right or wrong… you don’t have to have a plan – just begin!

When dry I sanded to add some distressing… isn’t it already feeling like it came out of an old field house?

What’s that?   TONER!

Reminds me of that Clapper commercial –  Brush on!  Wipe off!

A fabulous ending…

These wood samples?  Pieces of an old bronze frame – each one had a textured basecoat brushed over it, then light sand and Toner –

Are you ready to Caromal your world?

Head to my store   SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM   for all of your Caromal needs  – including perfect 8 ounce samplers of the Textured Basecoats – a great way to experiment with color combinations!

Leave a Reply

