You Know, It’s Sunday… Day Of Peace

Heard this song in church a few weeks ago, a new one to me.  I liked the story it tells

Day of peace

I dream of a morning in springtime,
bright with sunshine,
and here, in the heart of this very land,
God’s delight, hand in hand.
I know there will be a day of peace:
for this let us all work and pray.

I dream of a winter’s night, fair and calm;
streets are dark, but all are home and weary,
but thankful for another day ?
chance to work, to love and pray
I know there will be a day of peace:
for this let us all work and pray.

O peace, when will I see you?
O peace, will I ever see your dawning?
O peace, in a world of pain and longing,
your day is not today, and yet…

I dream of a night when all children
slumber safe, warm and fed,
and rise to a day of possibility,
each one loved, each one free.
I know there will be a day of peace:
for this let us all work and pray.

I dream of a morning
when all tears are dry,
wiped away from sorrow’s eye,
and all of the lonely and all the poor
dance and sing and weep no more.

I know there will be a day of peace:
for this let us all work and pray.

by Janet Sullivan Whitaker

Leave a Reply

