Breathing Life Into An Antique Vanity… Silver It Is!

This was a special re-purpose project for me – an antique vanity beautifully handcrafted…  old…. tired… nobody wanted…

Can you believe,  the various charity pick-up sites refused this piece from the owner?  She was so happy when I took it off her hands …

See back by that red bin?  The poor thing waited it’s turn…

The day finally arrived, we brought the vanity out and showed it some lovin…

I cleaned the piece with Simply Green (actually, my hubby did), and then we base coated it in Caromal Colours Reclaim Mocha, my yummy paint that sticks to any surface – primer/sealer/perfect base coat…

then a blend of Modern Masters Metallic paints

I like to soften my metallic finishes – Caromal Colours Toner is the perfect  solution

Yes…. coming along nicely!

Deciding if I should add crystal pulls

I decide YES…

Isn’t she beautiful?  I want to keep her….

I think the owner would be pleased with the results, don’t you think?

She’s for sale – any locals needing a pretty decorative piece?  Month of December we’re running a sale –  $50 off any furniture / accessories purchase of $300 or more.

LET CAROMAL COLOURS ROCK YOUR world!

 SHOP.FABFINISHER.COM   for all of your Caromal needs  – including perfect 8 ounce samplers of the Textured Basecoats – a great way to experiment with color combinations!

18 responses to “Breathing Life Into An Antique Vanity… Silver It Is!

  1. Totally STUNNING!!!!!! do you still have the 6oz samples for sale?

  2. Patty
    Love the piece just beautiful I think I want it !!! Call or email me

    • you’re going to go home with something ,eventually, arent you! It is so pretty Theresa, I cant wait for you to see! Kath stopped in Saturday and squealed in delight, she was so cute! Hey, tinter is coming tomorrow – all day I’ll be in training –

  3. that was very awesome!!! It started to look like the tin man, but settled down very nicely!!!

  4. Delane Theofanopoulos

    Hi Patty,
    I was in gabbing with you about my “fireplace” and you were painting it the brown, It turned out Beautiful! I have to come back in to do some sample boards for my fireplace 🙂 I’m excited!

  5. HOW cool! Joe Bro is here! Remember the one mom had at the cottage up north? Who’s go that, you? xoxoxoxo

  6. no I have the hutch…..

  7. Thanks for showing your beautiful vanity. Would you mind giving more detail about the layers? Which metallic colors did you use, specifically, and in which order. Your color has so much depth; did you glaze this piece at all? Thank you, blessings.

    • I listed the layers above- caromal reclaim mocha, silver blend, caromal toner.

      i based it with the mocha, then the metallic in one layer, – i mix my metallics – i always have modern masters, textureline, some faux effects, and blue pearl on hand – it just depends on what im doing – i’ll take several colors and mix it into one – then brush it on . i sell the silver blend that i like to use , as it gets alot of requests, you can find it in our store, and its on our online store too. i love doing the silver pieces – its just a slow and steady process, finessing it until its just right – always puts me in a calm mood! my goal is always to make it look like it was part of the piece, not brushed on.

  8. Thanks you for your reply! That is helpful. Sorry I somehow missed the colors and I appreciate that you repeated it for me and gave more details. Thanks you. Blessings to you and yours.

  9. Can you tell me exactly which colors brands finishings of paint was used for this. You are masters at colors

    • Hi Vanessa, You can achieve this look by Basing with Reclaim Mocha, then our Metallic Silver Blend followed by Caromal Colours Toner. Hope this helps. Happy Painting.

      On Sun, Jun 21, 2015 at 1:56 AM, Fabulously Finished wrote:

      >

  10. I just bought a vanity similar to this in its original state. Would love to do exactly what you did. On the modern masters metallic paints what colors did you use and did you mix them together??

    • You can achieve this look by Basing with Reclaim Mocha, then our Metallic Silver Blend followed by Caromal Colours Toner. Hope this helps. Happy Painting.

      On Tue, Sep 22, 2015 at 9:20 AM, Fabulously Finished wrote:

      >

  11. How much paint does it take to cover? I’d like to duplicate the look, it’s beautiful!

    • Hi, I would say a Quart of Reclaim Mocha, 8oz Silver Blend Metallic,8 oz Toner, 8 oz Satin Sealer . Happy Painting 🙂

      On Mon, Feb 1, 2016 at 2:47 PM, Fabulously Finished wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

