You Know It’s Sunday, A New Year!

Are you finding the older you get the faster time seems to be moving?

I can’t believe 2011 has come and gone.  I will admit I am glad to see it go – it was the worst year of my life.  But, even as bad as it was, it also opened my eyes.

I read this post from Mary Southerland ,  she talks about David and Goliath, and facing our own giants…  then goes on to say,

We stand on the threshold of a new year – a new beginning! If you are like me, you face 2012 with mixed emotions. Personally, I am thrilled that I survived 2011! There were certainly moments when I wondered if I would. I am so excited about a fresh start, a brand new set of days overflowing with new dreams and unmarked possibilities, but I also know this year is crammed full of the unknown as well as a giant or two. If I am brutally honest, I have to admit the unknown fashions a pocket of fear in my heart where questions and doubts thrive.

I really can relate to what she is writing.  I am grateful I survived 2011, thankful it is behind me, and am excited for a fresh start. But also scared of the unknown…

The good news is what lies ahead is no surprise to God. In fact, He has already been where we are going. That reason alone empowers us to face every tomorrow with hope, knowing whatever touches us passes through His hands, with His permission. It is not God’s plan for us to dwell in fear or for fear to rule our lives.  He has already set in motion the defeat and fall of every giant we will ever face.  Our responsibility is to step through our fear, facing every giant in God’s power and with His promises. The Holy Spirit will guide the path of His truth to its destined mark, taking down the giants lurking in each tomorrow.

Now THAT is the message I need to remind myself of, each and every day –  God is in control, not me – I’m just along for the ride, and I have to trust HIM.

Mary offers the perfect prayer,

Father, I come to You by faith, laying every fear and worry at Your feet. I am not sure what this year holds for me but I do know You are with me every step of the way. When I am tempted to worry, please remind me to trust You. When fear attacks, I choose to pray instead of panic, knowing You are my Lord and my Shepherd. I praise You for Your faithfulness in my life, even when I don’t understand and can’t see the next step. I praise You, Lord,  In Jesus’ name,

AMEN!  Wishing everyone a Blessed and Prosperous 2012!

One response to “You Know It’s Sunday, A New Year!

  1. I so love this prayer…so timeless and for everyone at all times in our lives. Thanks for sharing this Patty.
    May God bless and keep you.
    Love
    Ju

Leave a Reply

