Why Are You Carrying Ce Ce Paints?

I was recently asked a question that I thought was a really good one – and felt it might be good to share my response online,  in case others are wondering as well!

Patty,

I have to ask … why have you chosen to carry an additional line of paints?   I can see that there are a lot of exciting colors in CeCe — but if that is the reason then I must ask why you chose them over Annie Sloane?    I feel that Caromal Colours is such great quality, and ease of use I’m a little confused that you want to carry other products…I didnt want to ask this question on your public site …but I am curious…

As most of you already know,  I have been one of Caromal Colours most active reps  –  you probably won’t find a louder CC cheerleader- 3 years later I still believe and love promoting their paints – and still will continue to do so.

You might also know that my family hit the rocks last year when my husband lost his job – our lives forever changed.   I know there are MANY out there that can relate to that statement, right?     I almost gave up my passion for self-employment as a decorative painter, and DIY paint rep,  to go back to a desk job that would bring a secure weekly paycheck and more importantly healthcare for my family.   But I didn’t.

I couldn’t.  I believed in these Caromal DIY products  – a great finish, great durability, really easy to use –  and all those people  in homes where values have plummeted – how could I not be successful if I could only reach and empower them?   I gambled and opened Fabulous Finishes Specialty Paints Retailer.

Last summer as we worked on opening the store, I  saw the Annie Sloan paints taking roots in the blog world.   I purchased a can and played with the paint to see what the buzz was about.  It was a lovely paint,  much different than Caromal,  and not nearly as durable, but a pretty palette and finish look.  I contacted them to see about carrying  this line as well, since I knew of another rep in CA that carried both and it seemed like a good idea.    All they were able to offer me was a mini-stockist retail which basically takes 1/2 your retail profit away (1/2 goes to you 1/2 stays with the main stockist that you buy from).    By time you offset the other costs of doing business (running ads, paying credit card fees etc)  1/2 the profit wasn’t worth it.

Since opening in September, I’ve worked non-stop to make my store viable. My concept?  A Specialty Paint Retailer/Studio – a place that offers shoppers the best products I can offer that I believe will make their painting lives easier – coupled with hands-on guidance, instruction, advice.

Is the finish something I think homeowners can do?

Yes?   Then I show them how…

If not?  Then I tell them so, and explain why.

It’s not about pushing a can of paint for a sale,  it’s about filling the customers needs.   I am finding that I’m really good at that.    I love sharing my knowledge and empowering others – seeing their faces when they create a really cool finish easily…  my decorative finishing background really gives me an advantage creatively I think…   and they trust me.   I think if I keep doing what I’m doing, that eventually it won’t take 7 days of my time 🙂 and I’ll be able to say

“I really am blessed because I am doing something that I love…”

So where does Ce Ce Caldwell Paints fit in?     I  try to keep up on the painting trends/products in our business  and the CeCe paints peeked my curiosity.  I loved the color palette – completely different than the Caromal, and the idea that they are 100% earth friendly?  Stellar.   I’ve had customers come in, and love the idea of easy paints  but the Caromal colors didn’t fit their style  or the finish wasn’t what they were envisioning.      I checked out what others were doing with the CeCe paints and saw some really lovely finishes.   I was intrigued.  I ordered some.  I played.  Then I inquired about becoming a retailer.  And signed on,  just like that.

The Ce Ce  paints are so yummy.  The colors, the feel, the flow, the coverage, the smell ,   the Eco-friendliness,  the wax, the SUPER ease (no sanding, stripping, priming) ,  the pretty finish…  And, I have to smirk a little and admit that I like the idea of again introducing a product that is less known, but amazing.  There is so much hype right now with the Annie Sloan paints – and for good reason – they are similar paints  and Annie herself is a marketing genius – but it’s everywhere.  Everyone is selling it.   I’m one that likes drumming to a different beat 🙂

… Caromal Colours is such great quality, and ease of use I’m a little confused that you want to carry other products…

There is not just ONE paint that will satisfy everyone’s needs , but now having the opportunity to carry two amazing easy DIY lines of cabinet and furniture finishing products, how could I not want to do that?    Not to mention,  have you seen what you can do when you combo BOTH lines?

10 responses to “Why Are You Carrying Ce Ce Paints?

  1. Patty, as always – you have great talent and knowledge to share with us — thank you SO much. I’m not a bit surprised that your customers totally trust you – you always come through … this clears it up 🙂
    Brenda

  2. I’m not surprised that your customers love and trust you! Your heart is on your sleeve every day giving and sharing your talents. You are my hero!

  3. I totally support your decision, and I’m greatful that you are opening up a new door of creative possibilities for your customers. I really enjoy your blog, it’s actually the first blog I’ve followed regularly. You do amazing work and I hope that as new techniques and paints come out you will continue to share them!

  4. Hi Patty, Yay you’re selling CeCe and CC. How Fun. Expanding with alternative options always a good thing 🙂 Need to buy more Wisteria CC and I am excited to say, that I want to try CeCe too. The colors are Yum. Reading you’re review of CeCe all the better. I am back at my blog, blogging on the very words you wrote above, mixing the two mediums. Hoping they will create an awesome ” kitchen” for me. Together or separate either way. CeCe has shhh ” Purple” New Orleans Purple gah !
    I will be visiting your store to make purchases 🙂 You have to visit me, read my post, I praised you, as always, because I can. I have seen your masterpieces with my own eyes. You’re the Queen of Finishes 🙂 So good to see your ” Growing” as I expected, how could you fail? Nope, not Patty, Cause You’re Awesome and have so much talent to share. Hugs K

    • good to hear from you K you do need to stop when you’re in the area – there is much to see, and will be even more once the CeCe paints arrive – i tried to send you a shout on your blog but it wouldnt let me – instead look in your in box 🙂

  5. Oops, guess my blog didn’t post, hope you stop by, K http://butahouse.blogspot.com/

  6. Patty,
    Really like your blog. Was wondering how the Ce Ce paint finish differs from the caromal colors. I was planning on painting my kitchen cabinets. Thanks, Mary

    • Hi Mary,

      All 3 bond to nearly any surface provided clean and dry and wax free. the finishes all have their own look – the Tex Basecoats are thicker and look the least smooth and even but are a pretty finish – the TB’s are the most durable, in my opinion. they dry very flat/matte, and need to be sealed for washability., or leave as is if you like the flat look and arent going to be abusing it – kitchens you’d need to topcoat it . The Reclaim is more like a rolled on latex paint look – and has a built in sealer as well, so it you arent doing rough stuff you dont have to topcoat further. most i know using REclaim for their ktichen cabs are still throwing an extra topcoat on for added durablity. The CeCe paint brushes out and flows more even – so its not a brushy buildup like if try to brush the Reclaim , most colors coat amazing after just one coat. it goes alot further – one qt boasts 150sf where TB’s are a third that and Reclaim does approx 10 cab doors. It leaves less brush marks than the TB and those are easily evened out w/barely a fine sand. the CeCe paint needs to be sealed. their clear wax seals it easy, brush or wipe it on, when dry ,easy buff to a nice sheen. this wax offers a furniture finish but not durable enough for kitchens. they now have a satin topcoat that was created for more durablity – i have not played with it yet – it is arriving this week w/the paints and our plan will be base out a bunch of cabinet doors and sample different topcoats to see what will hold up the most – the paints are too pretty to not be used on cabinets – but I’m a freak on durability and levels of gouge-testing etc… and want to make sure I do my homework before offering ideas to customers. So, stay tuned – there will be much more to come 🙂

Leave a Reply

