Painting Doors, A Shabby Distressed Way… Caromal Colours

Love this door.   It is a beast.

It started blue – I began the painting with Caromal Textured Basecoat Putty

after the Putty, I stenciled a french poem in gold metallic, then when dry I brushed on a coat of Caromal Chipping Creme.  The chipping creme  will prevent the top coats of paint from bonding to the under coats…

once the chipping creme dries I brush over it all with Textured Basecoat Wisteria.  When dry I sand the crap out of the whole door

once the sanding is complete I brush Caromal Colours Coffee Glaze over the whole door, and wipe back with a dry cloth

and this is what I get…

Another door – originally white, I dragged Textured Basecoat Colonial Blue and Bayberry

Over the dried blues and greens I brush on some Putty and then dry brush on custom blend of Modern Masters Silver and Warm Silver

when it dries I sand the whole surface then brush on Caromal Coffee Glaze and wipe it off.   Lastly,  I stencil some detail using Modern Masters Metal Bronze – paints that have actual metals in them, which then patina when sprayed with an activating solution.

The perfect touch…

Wouldn’t this be perfect?   Maria Carr‘s romantic bedroom

Dreamy Whites, French Farmhouse Inspired Living

a swing

Pacific Mutual Door

a room divider

Apartment Therapy via Centsational Girl

a backdrop, and sweet color at that!

Design Sponge

Available for purchase –  if you’re interested give me a shout!

Fabulous Finishes Studio

49972 Van Dyke Rd

Shelby Twp, Mi 48317

888-819-1490

on the east side of Van Dyke, between 22 and 23 Mile

One response to “Painting Doors, A Shabby Distressed Way… Caromal Colours

  1. It truly is hard to find informed persons on that issue, but you sound like you know exactly what you are preaching about! Regards

Leave a Reply

