An Antique Sideboard – Vintage White, Featuring CeCe Caldwell… Part I

It started with my search for a buffet

I was drawn to it…    had to have it.   Only catch was it also came with this

and six of these

and two side panels that stow directly under the table top

I will admit I wasn’t crazy thrilled about painting the table and chairs,  after all the table was huge and six chairs?   Ugh.   But I wanted that buffet, so I bought the whole set.

I wasn’t quite sure where I was going to go with the buffet… I wanted it rich, romantic,  neutral enough that it would appeal to many clients.  I didn’t expect it to sell with the table and chairs – it’s such a pretty piece I could see it used in a foyer,  a living room, great room, sun room, hallway, bedroom – right?

My original plan went like this –  paint the body CeCe Caldwell’s Vintage White Mineral/Clay/Chalk based paint

and rub it back so some of the original finish would show through,  and paint the top CeCe Pittsburgh Gray

One of the reasons CeCe Caldwell paints are a must have for painting projects?  You simply start with a clean piece of furniture, open your can, and begin!  No sanding, stripping or priming is required – CeCe paints stick to nearly any surface,  and the coverage is grand – I started with a nearly empty can of Pitts Gray, painted the top, and STILL had nearly an empty can

I started to paint Vintage White and used the PG (Pittsburgh Gray) on the raised door panels

As the paint dries it lightens up, but the color will darken once it’s sealed.  I wasn’t sure I liked the gray on the raised panel…  I stopped painting the base and focused on where I wanted to go with that.  That’s a downfall to my jumpy artsy kindof brain – it frequently takes me off course instead of  letting me focus on finishing one thing at a time.

I mixed some Slate Grey Stonewash Pigment into my CeCe Clear Wax, and started to age the door panel.   I wanted to soften the Vintage White color,  and the grey was the perfect choice to tie the piece to the table/chairs (the chair fabric  I chose was a soft grey)  if someone chose to purchase the whole set.   Brush it on, wipe it back

I liked the Vintage White aged with the tinted grey wax, but I still didn’t like the gray panels, or the gray top…

I decided to paint a dark brown over the top.  The CeCe Hershey Brown (soon to be renamed due to trademark) was too red, I wanted a dirtier brown, so I mixed the Hershey Brown

with CeCe Springhill Green

I  painted over the Pittsburgh Gray top with the custom brown, and wiped back to distress

I liked that MUCH better…

but the gray panel still bugged me.

So I changed it

YES,  now I love it!

A perfect fit, brown and grey…

Yes, this piece was beautiful in its original state, but it’s finish was wearing and would have needed a restoration…

I feel there’s more than one way to restore 🙂

This beautiful buffet has many years left to serve the perfect home…

Available for purchase,  $1175   Dimensions  66″ wide, 39″ high, 21″ deep

One of a kind, when it’s gone it’s gone!

Coming tomorrow,  Part II  the table and chairs (also available)

ARE YOU READY TO GET your paint on?

Our online store  will cover all your needs – the best DIY paints on the market  –  CeCe Caldwell,  Caromal Colours, Textureline,   waxes, topcoats, powder pigments,  metallic paints, glazes…   in a variety of container sizes including samplers!  We offer rollers, brushes,  even custom sample wood squares created just how you request.

Check us out,   click on the  store button below

Or visit our Retail Studio – we carry not only paints and sundries but also custom painted pieces, all available for purchase.   We also offer fabulously fun workshops where you can learn not only the basics but also pick up some pretty neat ideas –  things  I’ve learned over my nine years as a decorative finisher.

Fabulous Finishes Retail Studio

49972 Van Dyke Rd, Shelby Twp, Mi  48317 888-819-1490

MONDAY                         CLOSED

  TUESDAY          11 AM – 500 PM

WEDNESDAY         11 AM – 500 PM

THURSDAY             noon  – 600 PM

FRIDAY                  11 AM – 500 PM

SATURDAY         10 AM – 200 PM

2 responses to “An Antique Sideboard – Vintage White, Featuring CeCe Caldwell… Part I

  1. Pingback: An Antique Trestle Table and Chairs – CeCe Caldwell Vintage White Part II | Fabulously Finished

  2. I am like your pics.., this would not fit my style most of the time, but I know of a few pieces right off hand that I would love to gild. I love all of the colours, but I think I’m going to go with the Gold as my fave…for now.

Leave a Reply

