My Pretty Thomasville Dresser Is Finally Painted Perfectly!

Oh this is going to be a long one, for this  dresser has quite a painty history…

It started as this,  a dresser is a dresser is a dresser, even if it IS a lovely Thomasville dresser, in excellent condition

In April I received a new CeCe Caldwell Color, Traverse City Cherry, a really pretty red, and decided to use it on this piece

My thought was to treat the front panels differently, that by doing so I could take this piece to new uses rather than

just a dresser…

I posted about this first Traverse City Cherry makeover here  , in a nutshell it went like this

Nope. not quite right…

Much better.   It is topcoated with their Ce Ce Caldwell Aging Wax Dark, which gives it that perfect rich red…

It was complete, and got many a compliments, but after I lived with it awhile it started to bother me – something just wasn’t right…

I thought, maybe too much red,  so I redid the top, to match the front panels, but that didn’t do it.    It needed a new color,  another new one I’d just gotten it – Cinco Bayou Moss.  My inspiration was that sample piece of wood propped in front,  Cinco Bayou Moss over Vermont Slate, wiped back and aged with the dark wax

I took off all the crystal ball knobs and brought back the original Thomasville hardware, then painted over the red with Cinco Bayou –

Here, I’m impatiently applying the Dark Aging Wax –  I want to see the results and the rest of the piece is not even finished!  Look how much that wax riches the color –

I loved the Cinco but I wasn’t loving it over the red  as much as over the black (like my sample).     I also decided it needed some bling and introduced 3 crystal knobs which had brass backs – the brass matched the original hardware perfectly

but then I didn’t like the handles with it – they seemed to blah… (does this sound like a Dr. Seuss book?)    I got out my Swarovski crystals and glued some onto the handles, trying to balance them with the pretty center knobs

I was liking that better, but now, even though I loved the color, it was just blending in too much and…. well,

it wasn’t quite doing it for me..

You thought I was fooling,  the sides REALLY weren’t done, nor was the right foot, and I was trying to figure out the final finish!

A client suggested dressing up its feet –  I LOVED this idea, and did them AND the corners, in a metallic blend to match the textured panels

of course I had to add another crystal 🙂    I was really starting to like this

Feet deserve bling too …

I liked it,  alot…  but what I really wished was that the red had been black…  Instead,  I grabbed my black glaze and gave the piece a quick brush on/wipe off

YES!!!

Do you see the bottom band is still unglazed?  See the difference?  It needed black, I knew it!   The funny is,  I was in the store by myself when I was brushing on the glaze, and I actually was out loud verbal in my excitement when I saw the result

It is absolutely perfect now, my new favorite piece, as they all end up becoming…

Perfectly painted.  Perfectly custom.  Perfectly one of a kind.  Quite handsome.

And available, for a short time…  that is, until someone swoops him up.

ARE YOU READY TO GET your paint on?

Visit us in our retail showroom where you will find various finish goods available for purchase, as well as all the products you’d need to do this yourself

Fabulous Finishes Retail Studio  49972 Van Dyke, Shelby Mi 48317

Our online store  will cover all your needs – the best DIY paints on the market  –  CeCe Caldwell,  Caromal Colours, Textureline,   waxes, topcoats, powder pigments,  metallic paints, glazes…   in a variety of container sizes including samplers!  We offer rollers, brushes,  even custom sample wood squares created just how you request.

Check us out,   click on the  store button below

5 responses to “My Pretty Thomasville Dresser Is Finally Painted Perfectly!

  1. Beautiful Patty..I just love it.
    I have some questions:
    1 Can you tell me how you did the door panels?
    2 The top of the piece looks like you have a different finish on it also?
    3 Did I understand you put black glaze on after you had already waxed it?
    When you repainted from red to the moss you just painted over everything?
    Lots a questions huh?
    Trying to learn all I can.
    Thanks
    Love your blog…so much information.

    • hi Faye, the door panels i teach in class – i take a black plaster and blade it through cheesecloth, then brush it with metallics and then waxes. the top matches the panels. yes, i black glazed AFTER i waxed it – yes i painted RIGHT over my old color choice which remember, ALSO had been dark waxed ….

  2. I love the bling you added to the hardware, I have never considered doing that but I will now!

  3. I do love the transformation — and you are always so clever in adding small details that really make each piece special ….. but….. how in the world do you price a piece after you’ve put this much labor into it? I know you are a fast worker, but that’s a lot of time into that piece …

    • lolol Brenda – you price it HIGH! no seriously, heres how i look at it – i flubbed up by not picking the perfect finish to begin with, so i dont expect to recoup double labor for completing 2 finishes. i arrive at my prices by taking A) what im starting with – quality piece? great condition? heirloom? etc this dresser is a Thomasville and is like new – drawers are sweet inside etc – and then B) what finish i hand crafted… this is where we all hit a gray area – it comes down to what you think your artistic talents are worth. I am finally coming into my own, and am confident that the pieces i create are one of a kind, with a custom finish that a client couldnt even purchase in Horchow or at a fine furniture store. Take that, combo’d with it being a great condition Thomasville piece – with that said, you’d think i coudl put a $1400 sticker on it – after all they get that in catalogs right? but it is used… i didnt price it that high! I think I have 900 on it?

Leave a Reply

