My Latest Furniture Redo – A Modern Transformation

Last weekend I had a surprise visit at the store – a customer and her husband stopped by with a piece they no longer had a need for

It had such good bones I couldn’t resist

It joined the growing pile

Go figure, it was THIS dresser that got finished first!  My inspiration was this

My intention was to paint the base a champagne silver metallic, then stencil an allover design in bronze –  metallic on metallic – that’s modern right?

I basecoated it with Caromal Colours Reclaim mocha,  and added a texture on the top using Textureline’s black Texturebase

then painted the top A Statuary Bronze with black highlights.  My plan for the top was beyond my typical ‘animal hide’…  this one was going to get epoxied!   I used a system called Aurastone/Granicrete – it is NOT a do-it-yourself project  –  I trained with it several years ago thinking I’d do counter tops,  but it is too labor intensive, and the materials are expensive-

See it dripping down the side?  I forgot how messy it is…

After the clean up,  I painted the base a mix of silver champagne, and then antiqued it with Caromal Colours Toner.

My hubby stopped by and said  “I’m not sure if I’m going to like that…”   to my snappy reply,   “It’s not done!”

When the base was dry I took one of my stencils from Wallover  called Gabriel’s Gate,  and started stenciling  in a bronze, silver, champagne mix

then yesterday I had a chance to finish the stenciling

I initially thought I would only stencil the front panels, but I wrapped it around the sides as well, it was so pretty

I painted the lower rail and feet bronze, and over glazed with black…

that looked better with the richness of the top.  Those black spots are actual mica pieces that I floated in the epoxy finish

And no, I could not resist – I had to add a few swarovski crystals – this time I used a smoke crystal color, wanted to put them everywhere, but held back and only popped the centers of a couple designs

I have to get pulls still  … I wish I could just leave them off…. thinking clear like glass/acrylic…

The epoxy top really gives it a modern feel – I wouldn’t use it on everything, but when I do I just love how it adds so much dimension…

Like the transformation?

Just rolled on the floor last night,  now available for purchase,  truly one of a kind!

Look for the texturebase and cheesecloth to be added to my online store later this week –

It’s a perfect month to be playing with paint!

Our online store  will cover all your needs – the best DIY paints on the market  –  CeCe Caldwell,  Caromal Colours, Textureline,   waxes, topcoats, powder pigments,  metallic paints, glazes,  in a variety of container sizes including samplers.   We offer rollers, brushes,  even custom sample wood squares created just how you request.

Check us out,   click on the  store button below

13 responses to “My Latest Furniture Redo – A Modern Transformation

  1. georgeous!!!

  2. Wow….I don’t know what else to say.

  3. This is so beautiful…I am awe struck!!

  4. Wow, it is amazing how furniture talks to you! You are the Furniture Whisperer!

  5. Pingback: Stenciled Dresser

  6. You’ve made something truly beautiful out of an ugly duckling, once again. Bravo!

  7. Ok. I can’t stand it. Patty, how would I buy the products to make pictures 3 and 10? Put it together and tell me how much — got a kit or two? [LOL] . I have to make two pieces just like this. I swear! [hand over heart] I want to make them exactly. Now the bad news: I cannot afford 2 cans of the Liberion wax. Is there another, smaller, or less expensive wax I could use? I see how it really enhances the finish, but that’s a chunk of change at this moment? Thanks, Christine

  8. christineefreeman

    Oh, Patty! I thought i was writing on the hide finish post! They’re the pics of the dresser with the front “snaked” and the lovely coffee table with the finish looking like an inset. I’ll have to dig to find the post again. Having a stupid moment. (My box has arrived & my next mission is to … open it! Yeah!!!)

  9. yes, dig it out and send me the link and i’ll see what you’re taking about. the dresser with front snaked is the textured plaster through cheesecloth then metallic over top then liberon wax. did you watch the video on it? up top, right of the blog screen is the ‘watch videos’ box – i have one on that animal hide… i’ve not found anything yet that does what the liberon does – i’ve tried the cece dark wax, i’ve tried glazes and stains, and the caromal toner … none work the same… maybe if you had a paste wax that was dark it would? i dont know, i’ve never used other paste waxes… you would be able to get 2 end table tops out of one smaller can of liberon – the medium oak comes in 2 sizes, smaller and larger…..

Leave a Reply

