A Silver Finish Makes It Perfect!

I loved the style of this side table,    such graceful legs

The top had a bumpy kindof finish so I decided to play on that and  do my textured hide.  Here the black plaster is drying after being scraped through cheesecloth

A sample I decided on –  I’ll get there by dry brushing the black plaster with a mix of metallic silver and champagne paint, and a medium oak Liberon wax-

I painted the base  Ce Ce Caldwell Young Kansas Wheat with a dry brushing of Ce Ce Caldwell Vintage White then sanded a little and wiped back with a wet rag

Loved that combo – so shabby and crisp

I decided to antique it with a toning glaze to warm it up… I liked the warmed up color too

and liked the top

but DIDN’T like them together…   Nope, it wasn’t working for me.

This is where a silver finish makes everything perfect!

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes!

Sometimes I’ll decide on a color or combo finish that doesn’t quite turn out how I’d envisioned…   like this one!    When that happens?  I keep working at it – revise it until you love it!

With all these great DIY paint products, you can do that – paint right over what you have, and create an even better finish!

The first plan

Changing the base to a silver finish makes the whole piece come together, just how I wanted it to

To achieve this silver finish, I used my Reclaim Mocha (Caromal Colours)  and brushed one coat OVER the existing finish .  The Reclaim will bond to any surface (previously painted, raw, metal, plastic etc )  When the mocha was dry I painted one layer of a metallic silver mix (Modern Masters silver and champagne) and when that was dry I brushed on Toner (Caromal Colours) and wiped it off.

It sounds complicated but its not

I carry sampler sizes that will do smaller pieces like this,  you can find those products as well as full stock of CeCe Caldwell Chalk and Clay Paints in my online store.

who’s ready for a fall project?

Come visit us   49972 Van  Dyke Rd,  Shelby Twp, Mi  48317

We’re open T-S  check our page for hours of operation

Our online store  will cover all your needs – the best DIY paints on the market  –  CeCe Caldwell,  Caromal Colours, Textureline,   waxes, topcoats, powder pigments,  metallic paints, glazes,  in a variety of container sizes including samplers.   We offer rollers, brushes,  even custom sample wood squares created just how you request.

Check us out,   click on the  store button below

Hooking up to some great sites today –  grab a cup of coffee and some inspiration!

Coastal Charm

It’s So Very Cheri!

Handy Man, Crafty Woman

The Stuff of Success

Domestically Speaking

Organize & Decorating Everything

Someday Crafts

The Dedicated House: Make It Pretty

13 responses to “A Silver Finish Makes It Perfect!

  1. I love it! Thank you for sharing. Visiting from Someday Crafts. Would love it if you would share this at my Make it Pretty Monday party at The Dedicated House. http://thededicatedhouse.blogspot.com/2012/09/make-it-pretty-monday-week-13.html Hope to see you at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

  2. I love this table! It is beautiful, Patty.

  3. Love the table…how do you do the textured hide?
    Can you give the process on how to get this look…I would love to know how to do it.
    Thanks!

    • Hi Faye, I use oversized cheesecloth from bolts I have from my wall finishing business – open it onto the surface then blade over it with a plaster I have called Texturebase black – its thick enough to leave a nice textured pattern and is nice and durable. After I blade on the plaster I pull the cheesecloth off and let it dry. Once dry I dry brush a metallic blend of paints on – go light handed in the painting, a little metallic goes a long way – cover eveyrthing. When the paint is dry take a tinted wax like Liberon Walnut or Medium Oak and blade that over the surface, then lightly wipe to remove the excess. Its a finish that takes a little practice – I offer hands on with it, for those that are local to me. Hope this helps!

  4. When is your next class for the animal hide finish? That is going to be my next venture !

    • Denise, the hide one you can schedule as a private – I think thats how I have it set up this season –

      Animal/Reptile Hide Finish-

      Learn how to create a a textural hide finish, which is perfect for furniture tops and door panels. Products used- Textureline texturebase, metallic paints, glazes and waxes. Two 12 x 12 textural finish samples created.

      Workshop fee: $80, $40 due at registration, $40 payable at start of class. 1 hour.

      Call to schedule your private session, 1-3 person.

  5. Wow! That is stunning. You’ve taught me a good lesson: don’t give up if at first you don’t like your results. Thanks for sharing your incredible project and its story.

  6. Great use of that Texturline finish!
    I have it as a sample in my portfolio but because I work mostly on walls or ceilings and the product stays open for a very short time, it’s impossible to use on large surfaces without dividing it into smallish area, such as squares or rectangles. I have used it only once, on a 3 panels screen, and even then I had to divide each panel into 3 sections… But your project gives me ideas for other uses, and I like to see the color evolution. I do the same on my samples, it’s fun.
    Is there any way to buy your products and have them shipped to Canada? I’d love to try the reclaim….

  7. Hi- Just wanted you to know I featured this fabulous table on my Saturday favs-Have a great weekend-Claire

Leave a Reply

