My Newest CeCe Painted Buffet… Can I Keep It?

I didn’t like this buffet when I came upon it

it had a rolled coat of locker room blue gray paint on it, with black pulls.   Ugly.

But, it had great bones –  a solid buffet, mahogany inside

It was a keeper  – I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it, but something would come to me.

One of my clients mentioned that they had combo’d CeCe white over Cinco and that it was lovely –  I tried that (CeCe Dover White over Cinco Bayou Moss) on this mirror and really liked it

I figured the mirror could be a perfect accessory for this large buffet, so I decided to do the buffet the same

My first layer – brushed with a simple $2 chip brush,   CeCe Caldwell’s  Cinco Bayou Moss

It looks better already.   Second coat,   CeCe Dover White.    Dover is a tint base, meaning it has no tint in it – its a natural base color – I don’t like to paint with it as it can take 3 coats to cover, but it is wonderful for a subtle highlight…

Painting Dover over Cinco…  I’m liking what I see…

I should start my sanding, wiping, revealing, distressing…   I’ve chosen a  stencil for the doors and I can’t help myself – I MUST see it,  so I jump ahead…

The stencil is from Maison De Stencils – Family and Friends Gather Here – the meaning was perfect and the size couldn’t have fit these doors better.    By the way, I stock quite a few of their stencils but don’t have them on my online store yet, if you are ordering and interested in a stencil as well,  head to their site, find an element you like and then email me – our prices are the same but you’d save shipping, right?

I stenciled using CeCe  Cinco, Pittsburgh Gray and Dover

Now that I love the design, I go back to finessing my finish – I sand,  I wipe,  I lick  (just kidding :),  but I could, the paint is 100% green!)

This was exactly what I was going for – revealing down to that original blue/gray – it reminds me of CeCe Smoky Mountain Gray, I love that color with the Cinco and the Dover.   Letting a little peek through makes me like my finish even more…

I originally thought I’d replace the hardware – did not like the black at all – but handles are harder to swap out, and I didn’t want to deface the backs of the doors by re-drilling new holes,  so I painted the old

and now I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

I decided to give the top a richer grain looking finish so I brushed a coat of Cinco, Pittsburgh Gray and Virginia Chestnut – all at once, kindof dry brushing it on – and then blended it using water – almost like a wash.  Here it is dry

Then I sealed it with my wipe-on poly (oil) –  I hate using it on the CeCe paints because it soaks in  and doesn’t leave a nice finish, but I knew it would dry quicker and my intent was to go OVER it with another oil based product – a stain that I regularly use in my faux finish business.   This was what I ended up with

Love the dark top with the lighter bottom.  My only recommendation here is that you DONT run right out and get oil stuff and then use it on your next piece.  What I did on this top ISNT a beginner 101 finish, in fact I panicked a little as I was working this finish – stains, oil based products – they aren’t user friendly, especially over products like porous chalk and mineral type paints.  If you want to experiment start by practicing on spare boards or something like that.

Added signature bling…

Oops, thats the old.  Can you believe?

I am so pleased with how it turned out, I hope it inspires you to try this CeCe combination out,  you’ll love the results!

ready to get your paint on?

Our online store  will cover all your needs – the best DIY paints on the market  –  CeCe Caldwell,  Caromal Colours, Textureline,   waxes, topcoats, powder pigments,  metallic paints, glazes,  in a variety of container sizes including samplers.   We offer rollers, brushes,  even custom sample wood squares created just how you request.

Check us out,   click on the  store button below

Jumping on to the following linky parties:

Primp Your Stuff Wednesday

Southern Lovely: Show Your Stuff

5 responses to “My Newest CeCe Painted Buffet… Can I Keep It?

  1. Gorgeous!!

  2. WOULD LOVE TO FEATURE YOUR BUFFET , PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THIS WOULD BE OK WITH YOU,
    LAUREN

  3. Found your buffet on Lauren’s blog.
    This is a winner! Love what your have done!
    Thanks for sharing
    Lots of blessings from South Africa

    • Thank you kindly, Sandra – buffets are one of my favorites pieces to create on… I want to say, several of the pictures you have on your blog (those of your yard and view) are absolutely breathtaking – do you get used to that, you think? or are you always aware that your countryside is so so pretty?

Leave a Reply

