You Know It’s Sunday, I Need You Now…

I expected to post more frequently this past week, and didn’t manage to do that… these weeks are just flying by.

I miss having the extra time to share and keep in touch though my blogging…  I have SO much to share with you,  it frustrates me that I can’t get it all done!  I wish I could have a little robot helper hovering near by on his mini flying saucer (think Jetsons) that I could relay my ideas and photos to, and they could bang out the post for me just perfectly… wouldn’t that be awesome???

I’ve been thinking about this post  since Friday –  my daughter had  a soccer tournament to play in Indianapolis so she and I made the 6 hour drive across I-69  Friday afternoon.    The long drive was therapeutic in a way, just my daughter and I, catching up, laughing at silly stuff (like a gorilla on a motorcycle)… shutting off the crazy work related stuff (its been a mad zone lately and no end in site…)  and of course,  as one christian radio station fades out, you ALWAYS find another right?  Even when other stations don’t have a strong enough signal, God finds a way!  🙂

So we’re driving and the song Need You Now, by Plumb, comes on.   I’ve heard this song a million times,  but I never HEARD it.  Never listened to the words…

Well, everybody’s got a story to tell
And everybody’s got a wound to be healed
I want to believe there’s beauty here
So, I guess you’re tired of holding on
I can’t let go, I can’t move on
I want to believe there’s meaning here

How many times have you heard me cry out
“God please take this”?
How many times have you given me strength to
Just keep breathing?
Oh I need you
God, I need you now.

Standing on a road I didn’t plan
Wondering how I got to where I am
I’m trying to hear that still small voice
I’m trying to hear above the noise

Though I walk,
Though I walk through the shadows
And I, I am so afraid
Please stay, please stay right beside me
With every single step I take

Standing on a road I didn’t plan,  wondering where I am..  How many times have you heard me cry out?  How many times have you given me strength?  Wow…. how many of us can relate?   Crying out?  Reaching out?  Wanting to believe, wanting to feel Christ’s hand holding us,  trying to hear and see above all the noise…

So there I went down I-69,  singing LOUDLY as I drove (fun to do that in a car), tears rolling down my face…  a year ago I was broken down…  I ‘knew’ that my faith proclaims that God would get me through it, that God had my back –   but did I really believe it at that time?

 Being faithful, praying, trusting…. and so often, through that, breaking down and being sad and miserable all over again because you just CANT see how it will get better….   then praying harder,  Please God, help me keep my eyes on you,  to believe in you, to trust that you are RIGHT HERE WITH ME AT ALL TIMES…

I look at where I am at,  a year later, and I am so thankful and feeling very blessed.  Our God is an awesome God.      Thank you GOD!

It’s time to get rolling… shower,  pack up the car,  head to the fields for one last soccer game, then I-69 it back to Detroit.   I  will be moving my store to a larger location (YAY!) February 1st – it’s just 1/2 mile down the road but in great open plaza and we will have more than double the space 🙂 🙂  I can’t wait, but there is alot to do to get it ready – the new landlords were kind enough to give me the keys now so I have 3 months to get it perfectly pretty!  Three months sounds like ample time, but my present store is open and we are busy, so that leaves little time to get to the other place.   If that’s not enough, the next 3 weeks I will be fulfilling 3 clients needs for wall finishes (no worries, I have the store covered)  –  holidays looming ALWAYS brings a rush of home decor needs.

I’ll make every effort to get a post or two up a week, so I can keep in touch with all of you,  and once the craziness settles you’ll have my full attention again… thank you for being patient!

Have a BLESSED week!

18 responses to “You Know It’s Sunday, I Need You Now…

  1. Oh Patty – what an awesome post! It is such a blessing to hear a ‘sister in Christ’ be in so much pain a year ago and now your cup is overflowing! He is such an awesome God. Patty, He will meet you where you are and sometimes when there is just too much to take care of and I cannot see how I can get it all done, I just try and remember to breathe and just focus on Psalm 46:10 – Be still, and know that I am God;

    Maybe it is time to ask for help and maybe this is the season you are to learn to delegate (hate that)!!! Anyway, if it is quiet on your end, I will be praying for you!

  2. “Our God is an AWESOME GOD, He reigns for ever and ever”! What a blessing to be able to witness your walk as you become closer and closer to our Savior! I love you Patty. So, so happy for you and Mark and kids. The Lord is good!

  3. Chica, If anybody can handle it, YOU CAN!! Never doubt yourself!

  4. Chica,
    Let go of the God fantasy and believe in yourself. You’ll find your fellow man/woman can help you more. Believe in humanity and the love in all of us. We are evolving to be better and kinder.

    • I have met such a wonderful support group this past year Pat, even more so since opening my storefront – its amazing how many folks are walking a similar walk, you know? And the ONE thing that united us? God. For me God isn’t a fantasy, HE is the answer. The Holy Spirit is the love in us all, what helps each of us be more loving, kinder, more humane… we all have our beliefs, I can respect others , but for me ? God ROCKS!

  5. I am sure everyone would agree; we will take you anyway we can get you.
    I am learning so much from you and your posts, although I am having a little issue with some paint….more on that later 🙂

  6. Sandra Drogmiller

    I’ve only just met you Patty, but feel we are kindered spirits in some ways. I’ve been on that rocky road several times in my life…and I’m struggling to get to the top again. I know that the Great Spirit has been with me all the way and that there were times when He carried me. I’m ever grateful to know Him and that he also put you in my path when I needed a boost. You are an inspiration… I think you are His Fabulous Finish too. =)

    • Thank you Sandra! You get knocked down you get back up right? I liked the part in the song video where the 2 sets of feet are walking in the sand and the one set of tracks is all bobbled up, here there everywhere, and the other set is just walking straight , right next to it…. any time you need a lift give me a call!

  7. As much as I love your site and blogs…the one that makes the most impact is “You know its Sunday”…My dear sister in Christ, this is where your gift for blogging is, the encouragement, which is a gift given and greatly received from a Mom just like you in NC….if you don’t blog anything else….which I hope does not happen…love your blogs…just keep the Sunday one…I LOVE IT…Lee

  8. Sometimes its through the hard times that we really do draw close to God. I have been through a few hard things myself….and when I get to the “other side” of the problem, and think back to how desperate I felt, I always come to realize that in those desperate moments…I had always taken my eyes off God and focused solely on the circumstance/situation. So now I always “try” to remember that……and as I keep my focus on HIM…..the circumstances tend to fade away. Keep posting……love reading them!!

  9. christineefreeman

    It takes the gift of being “lost on the path” to show us whether our faith is part of our fabric or just lip service. Well after God straightens the path back out, if we’re “aware” human beings, we’re allowed to look back with clarity and watch the lesson. For me it was a fire. I learned about letting go. Of control, of dear, special pets, of beliefs I’d held dear and as truths, and faith in a person. I also learned I was loved, a contributor to people’s lives and faith, an example (altho I continue to hope a good one!) and that yes, once again, God and gratitude would see me through. I also learned it’s a never-ending path with dramatic ups and downs. Sometimes we’re blessed to recognize kharma in action. Having learned I live and breathe the teachings, not just spewing platitudes to my students, my faith is stronger and more comfortable. That’s a hard song to listen to. Makes me just want to tell her it’ll be OK. There is a plan.

    • that must be why they say the older are wiser – we’ve lived through more experiences, hopefully learning from each … like you said, never-ending up’s and downs, highs and lows – walking in faith makes both easier!

  10. Your post is a blessing.

Leave a Reply

