You Know, It’s Sunday… Getting Your Day Started Right…

As I’m getting older my needs change, and my faith walk is changing too.  I realize that I am not where I need to be, often I find myself trying to figure out how to get where I want to be.   Confusing?

Do you have people in your life that you admire because they are so strong and committed in their faith?  I do.   I have a few friends that I consider ‘further along’ in figuring out God.  You know what I realize with each of them?   They make time to read the Bible,  studying it so they understand how it relates to life,  and they pray ALOT.    They are more aware.   God is present in every corner of their lives,  and you can see a difference-   how they act , how they speak, how they treat others.  I don’t know about you but when I am around people like this I just want to rub on them, hoping their ways will rub off on me.

I like to listen to Joyce Meyers,  often I’ll find her on You tube on my phone and listen on the way to work.   This week I did that – I thought,  instead of calling my mom and yacking with her on the way in, I’ll pull up a Joyce video and get some insight on living faithfully.   I picked  Getting Your Day Started Right (I copied the link below).    It was perfect for me.   One thing that really struck home was when she talked about how we might go to church, or catch a video,  or a conference, and think thats all we need…  but it’s not.

We need to take what we get from these and do our OWN studying…. we need to make time for God, every single day.     Start the day out right,  read scripture,  learn more about God,  pray and give thanks, carve out a plan for the day…  and she makes a point that people should get to bed on time so that they CAN make time in the morning.  That’s my excuse – so tired….   So lame.

I

NEED

TO

SPEND TIME WITH GOD.   

E  V E R Y   D A Y.

11 responses to “You Know, It’s Sunday… Getting Your Day Started Right…

  1. You are literally on my page…no pun intended…and recently I have been more diligent to read and pray first thing in the morning…of course with my coffee…but as my sweet mentor older lady told me this week at lunch..”You want to walk with the Lord through the day so every step you take…it is still warm from the Lord.” Just love that. I have found painting and repairing old furniture has been God’s way of teaching me about relationships…some are old ,some new, some repaired and almost new… but what we decide to do with it is up to us…create in me a clean heart ole Lord…let me be like you in all my ways..give me your strength..give me your song ..shelter me in the shadow of your wings..for we are your righteousness…if we die to ourselves and live to your death..then we shall be born again to be blessed in your love.

    • I LOVE that Lee! I’d love to come up with a saying like yours and decorate the new back room work wall with it – something related to just that… my great friend, helper, and lover of furniture painting has a card she places inside each piece – its a small note about giving new life, God’s blessings etc – kindof like what you are saying – she graces each piece she refinishes with it –

  2. Patty, THANK YOU for your “You Know it’s Sunday” e-mails.  I enjoy receiving them…I often have to work on Sunday and they are a little “church” for me.

    You mentioned listening to Joyce Meyers on youtube.  I have been listening to Jennifer Beckham.  She is great and I think that you would enjoy listening to her, as well.

    Blessings!

    Donna

     In the Depth of Winter, I finally learned that there was in me an invincible Summer…….Albert Camus

  3. Take me off your Sunday emails. I don’t need any more religious crap
    Pat

    • Wowzer, Pat….this is someones personal blog…..just don’t read it on Sunday if it’s so offensive.

    • Pat I think what you’d have to do is go in on your end and uncheck the ‘follow’ link, that will remove you off all of them.

      I realize the Sunday posts are unrelated and usually on a more personal level, and the last thing I want is to offend anyone – I think Kathleen makes a good point, for anyone not interested in any personal jib, don’t read the Sunday ones 🙂

  4. Would love to send you a private email if I may. Going through what you did last year. Thank you.

  5. Not only am I not as far along God’s path as I would like to be I am also not far along the technology path. This is the first time I have ever written on a blog. I just want to say, I enjoyed your post. I too am blessed to have friends that are further along the path then myself and they are guiding me gently.

    Since I am new here I don’t know what Patti went through last year, but to Carole, I just keep putting one foot in front of the other. It will get better.

Leave a Reply

