I Call Them Painted Cake Tables…

Did you ever buy an item to repurpose, thinking it’s a great bargain or a fabulous find,  and then later stare at  it and think

What was I thinking?

That happened to me with these

I called them my cake tables, because they reminded me of stacked wedding cakes…there was a coffee table stacked as well, but I took that one apart not liking the stack on a rectangle

(that little guy ended up making a perfect powder pigment display, but that’s a different story)

I loved how unique they were when I bought them,  very Brady Bunch,  the tops formica, the legs metal, with a metal band wrapping around….

What was I thinking???

I had a vision of white/gold/ crackle/ stencils   ….  maybe because the tables were already kindof like that – I just needed to modernize them.

I decided to first paint them with a layer of Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Wisteria — the textured basecoats are my go-to paint when I need to build a base, and in this case I wanted that thicker paint to mask the fact that the edge was a metal band.

 I didn’t want that formica surface to ‘just look like painted formica’ –  the textured basecoats added a little more interest .   Once the Wisteria was dry,  I brushed random areas with a gold metallic paint, and let that dry.

Metallic paints won’t stick to any surface like the Caromal and CeCe paints will, so the layering order is always secure basecoat FIRST, then metallic paint.

Over the dried gold metallic I brushed some elmers glue in random areas and then over the WET glue I brushed CeCe Caldwell Simply White…

One beauty of the CeCe Caldwell  paints- they crackle with something as simple as school glue.  (For more on that process,  you can watch my video where I show the play by play crackling a nightstand here) .

As my CeCe Simply White dried, it crackled up and underneath popped the gold

Three sets of tables later… I no longer regretted the purchase!

Adding a stencil in gold was the icing on the cake (s)

Look at that before to the left,  what a difference!

All you need is paint!

The right kinds of paint that is 🙂   Paints that make updating furniture, accessories, cabinets, easy and fun.   Caromal Colours and Ce Ce Caldwell paints both offer you EASY and FUN –  these paints sticks to nearly any surface WITHOUT having to first strip or sand or prime.   Everything  is waterbased so there is no smell, and CeCe Caldwell paints are 100% GREEN to boot!   whoo hoooo     we love Natural,  Green, Earth Friendly,  Made in the USA…

For how to’s  and more colorful inspiration, check out  my Caromal Colours and CeCe Caldwell blog posts (located in right hand column under topics)   paint made easy – CeCe Caldwell Chalk and Clay Paints.

Head to our online store,  shop.fabfinisher.com   where you will find a full selection of CeCe Caldwell Chalk and Clay Paints,  Caromal Colours Country Living Paints, Caromal Colours Reclaim  Beyond Paint,  and fun extras like pigments and metallics, brushes and rollers …

If you want to place an order, click on the  store photo below

3 responses to “I Call Them Painted Cake Tables…

  1. These are marvelous

  2. I don’t know where you find the time and how you cram all of that artistic imagination in your brain. You always amaze me. I adore these!

  3. The time things a tough one 🙂 thats’ why you’ve seen less of me here – I wish I had 5 pair of hands, and an extra charged sleep battery!

Leave a Reply

