Final Hours Of 2012 – What A Crazy Ride!

I’m BACK!!!!!  Well, at least for this evening 🙂    And what a better evening –  my kids are old enough to want to spend New Years Eve with their friends, my hubster is happy sitting home watching the ball drop, as long as he has his shrimp, sausage, cheese and Asti – and I am in heaven because I am sitting by a fire with laptop and cocktail!  I know, that sounds so lame – but I have really missed having the time to post about fun painty stuff – so here goes it!

Before I share a couple EYE CANDY posts of some lovely CeCe Caldwell combo samples we’ve recently created (one by one close up)

DSC_9677 (Large)

I  want to back up….   because, after all, it IS New Year’s Eve.

We started this year with alot of ‘NEW’  –  my hub started a new job, after 30+ years with a previous employer,   I rolled into 2012 with the store taking root…  our family life as we knew it was uprooted, but we survived.   We never know WHY things happen to us, right?

DSC_0936

But if you are a believer, then you’ll relate –  God has a plan.   I’m learning to approach life differently.   Where I’m at ?  I need to LIVE it…. APPRECIATE it… find GOOD in it….  it might not be perfect, it might not be MY plan, but it’s not up to us.

You know how I got through this year?  F A I T H.     2012 was a blast –  our little unknown store thrived,  word of mouth spread,  and because of that we are now in a 5 week count-down before we move down the street to a grand new location!  How fabulously amazing is that,  after one year ??!!!

DSC_8342

So, as this year comes to an end, I look ever forward to 2013 – we have so much to do!

Here are a few things on our horizon for this next year:

  • a new location – 3000 sf of painting fun!  Come check us out, February 1st,    51350 Van Dyke Rd,  Shelby Twp, Mi 48316
  • a front showroom of hand painted furniture and accessories, not just from me but from FIVE other artisans-  how’s THAT for variety?
  • a monthly give back – we will be hosting monthly events to help those that need it –  because I believe that is what we are called to do – not just reap the reward, but to share it with others

And on a personal note,  we have something new on the horizon – this week we break ground on our new homestead 🙂  How’s that for crazy timing, right?   The good thing is,  it won’t be ready for awhile, good thing because that’s the LAST thing on my mind!      Next 30 days are count-down to new location – we’ve got alot to do.

Today we got a little bit done –  working on the paint display cabinets

DSC_9871

Caromal Colours Artisan Collection and Reclaim on the left, and CeCe Caldwell Chalk and Clay paints on the right – these cabinet units will have top shelving units built on top of them housing the sampler jars of paints,  and the counters will be given an Aurastone finish,  maybe like this… something bronze-brown…

DSC_0056

Cece Michigan Pine over Vintage White with Dark Aging Creme,  Vintage White over Vermont Slate,  Cinco Bayou Moss over Vintage White with Dark Aging Creme…

DSC_9869

Springhill Green over Vintage White with Dark Aging Creme,  Vermont Slate over Springhill Green,  Pittsburgh Gray over Vintage White…

DSC_9867

and on the Caromal side…

DSC_9860

Candy Apple over Parchment with Toner,  Putty over Peppercorn with Toner, Chocolate over Parchment with Toner,  Colonial Blue over Parchment, Parchment over Peppercorn,  Cobblestone over Peppercorn with Toner….

DSC_9862

Every drawer finish will be labeled, in fact EVERYTHING in the store will be labeled,  so you customers can identify what paints are used to create what…

What else did we work on today?   The front check out, which got it’s first basecoat of Caromal Chocolate textured basecoat a couple days ago….

DSC_9795

Got it’s second coat today –   this was a 1-layer wash of Destin Gulf Green, Michigan Pine, and Smoky Mountain Gray, over Caromal Colours Chocolate Textured Basecoat…

DSC_9876

I’m already loving the desk that Marty dealt me  – and it’s not even done.   I still need to do a wash over it all using a watered down Dover White, then I’ll sand it back some to distress, and seal it with Clear Wax…   The tops will be epoxy’d with Aurastone….  and it needs some new knobs…

DSC_9873

Happy New Year to you and your loved ones –  I share this,  from a greeting card, but I liked it!

A new year comes to give us a fresh hope,
For a better future and success
A new year gives us a dream for that
We will face challenges with confidence
On this new year may your dreams and hopes
Succeed with the blessings of God
Happy New Year and Seasons greetings

10 responses to “Final Hours Of 2012 – What A Crazy Ride!

  1. Cabinets looks Fabulous Patty and wow what a difference on the desk from the other day. Great as usual. Happy New Year to you.

  2. Hi, I’m the gal from Tn that was hoping to make a visit over the holiday. Well, we didn’t make it and as it worked out it was a good thing. I love everything about your business and the way you are running it. Want to come for a visit so badly.

    Wishing you the very best with all the changes coming your way in the new year. God Bless

  3. Patty- God bless you and your family! One year and look what He has done…even in THIS economy! You are an inspiration to me in more ways than you know. My husband is just getting ready to open his doors in a new business. (You can “like” it at Facebook.com/aspireinterventions.) Once he’s established, I tackle my own business in painting. So exciting! Thank you for keeping your blog going even when you’re so busy. It’s my favorite.
    Edie

    • Boy, dontcha know Edie – abundantly blessed! Wow, good luck to your husband – and in due time, you will be following with your venture , a colorful path 🙂 Have a wonderful year, and thanks for coming along on my ride!

  4. OMG! The checkout area IS FAB! Love the colors. Iam getting SO excited.

  5. PS…Congrats on breaking ground on on your new home. GREAT THINGS are happening for you and yours AND it is well deserved. You have earned it!!! Love Ya!

  6. Hi, I thought Id saved your recent email a long list of examples with all the formulas used. Can you please resend? I wanted to study it later but must have deleted it. Thanks so much!

    On 12/31/12 11:34 PM, “Fabulously Finished” wrote:

    > Patty Henning posted: “I’m BACK!!!!! Well, at least for this evening :) > And what a better evening - my kids are old enough to want to spend New Years > Eve with their friends, my hubster is happy sitting home watching the ball > drop, as long as he has his shrimp, sausage” >

Leave a Reply

