Vintage Cupboard Shabby Distressed With Caromal Colors Textured Basecoats

I love these cupboards… one of my favorite things to paint

DSC_0280

This one was funny,  I was in the middle of packing up boxes, preparing for the final week before our store move, and I dropped everything (you can see around me) and just started painting!

I wanted this cupboard to have a finish similar to this one I did a few years ago

DSC_5113

I started with Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Colonial Blue – one layer brushed on, let dry.

DSC_0366

I stenciled the front using Textured Basecoat Wisteria – love stenciling with the TB’s because they leave behind a thicker relief-like stencil.

I decided while the Wisteria (white) stencil was drying that I wanted to use the Wisteria as the top color, not  the Parchment (creamy) as I’d originally planned.  If I did that, though, my raised stencil would get lost.   So I let the stencil dry then stenciled back over the white with a blackened bronze metallic.

DSC_0374

When it dried I brushed on a coat of Caromal’s Chipping Creme (over the whole piece), and let it dry.

Last coat, brush on Caromal Colours Textured Basecoat Wisteria.  When it dried I sanded to reveal the blue undercolor

DSC_0384

DSC_0386

DSC_0389

A few Swarovski’s to dress up the crown…

DSC_0435

DSC_0448

DSC_0456

And it moved, officially, with us, on February 1st, to our new store location

DSC_0659

This painted cupboard is still available for purchase-  you can find it in our studio showroom located at Fabulous Finishes Studio  51350 Van Dyke Rd   Shelby Twp, MI 48316

We offer weekly hands-on workshops  in our 3000 sf studio.  Bring your own piece and repurpose it, choosing from endless fabulous finish options…

Workshops fill fast so pick your date and call to sign up –deposit required.  Head here for dates and contact info.

DSC_0777

Our  online store is fully stocked with CeCe Caldwell and Caromal products.  If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

Leave a Reply

