Putting A Painted Finish on This Carved Fireplace Mantel…

First off,  do you ever wonder the proper spelling of mantel?  Mantle? Mantel? I see it used both ways,  like gray and grey…

DSC_2373

Mantel vs. mantle

Mantle is primarily a noun referring to (1) a loose, sleeveless coat or cloak, (2) something that covers, (3) the layer of the Earth between the crust and the core, and (4) the cerebral cortex.

Mantel is easy; it refers to the ornamental shelf above a fireplace. It has no other definitions in today’s English.

Mantel it is.   This mantel sat in my back workroom for awhile, and each week during one of our paint workshops someone would comment on it…  certainly an eye catcher, even in its present form, but I had plans for it.

One day, as I walked past it (as I’ve done a million times),  I stopped and decided NOW was the time to dress it up with paint.

DSC_2375

I rarely have an ‘exact’ finish in mind when I start projects, more like I have an IDEA of where I want to go with something-   in this case I wanted a lighter, worn, vintage feel…

I grabbed CeCe Caldwell Seattle Mist, and American Paint Company’s Plymouth Rock.   Both are all natural, zero voc, chalk/clay/mineral based paints that I offer in my store, though alike, unique in their own ways.  DSC_2378

I like having a broader selection of colors to choose from, and APC’s Plymouth Rock is becoming one of my go to colors as it offers a sheerness, not SO opaque as the other neutrals AND is an off white that is void of creamy yellows, instead offering a pinch of grey…

DSC_2374

I took these colors and brushed them on at the same time

DSC_2379

The Seattle Mist went on first, and then I’d brush the Plymouth Rock over most of that…

DSC_2399

Now this is where I lose track of taking play-by-plays to show my progress, and instead get POSSESSED by the need to get the finish how I IMAGINED it in my head.

(this is how I imagined it)

DSC_2942

My plan was to light sand and wet wipe the detail, then apply an aging wax  and call it done.  But when I started one side of it, it wasn’t wow’ing me.  I changed direction and put a quick (American Paint Co) Topcoat Finish on it to seal the paint  – I love this topcoat for quick and easy sealing,  it is like water in a can, super easy to brush out with no MOA’s and dries fast.  After that I used more paint, and tinted glazes and more paint cracked with glue  – until I got to this

DSC_2946

DSC_2949

hh

DSC_2951

DSC_2952

DSC_2950

I couldn’t wait to get it out on the floor, against the dark plastered walls…

DSC_2965

DSC_2967

DSC_2953

DSC_2946

Even if I had captured play by play photos, it would not be a finish easily replicated.  That’s the beauty of these paints – you might not create MY perfect but you will capture YOUR perfect!

That is the success of the DIY paints like CeCe Caldwell, American Paint CompanyCaromal Colours –  you can apply these paints over your existing piece without sanding or stripping,  and you can KEEP applying and layering until it looks exactly how you want it.

DSC_2941a

Fabulous Finishes Retail Studio –  S O L D

Do you have your OWN piece screaming for  a transformation?

We are a full service retailer for

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS ARTISIAN COLLECTION

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

We offer everything you need – paints, finishes, brushes, stencils, find us online by clicking on the store button below

or you can visit our Retail Studio for supplies and weekly workshops,  located at  51350 Van Dyke Rd, Shelby Twp, MI 48316

Linking up to some great parties today!

power of paint tues

SavvySouthernWOWButtonReverse  weds

stacybutton2 tues

7 responses to “Putting A Painted Finish on This Carved Fireplace Mantel…

  1. Deborah & the furry gang in OK

    Patty..you constantly rock my world!!
    I wish I lived closer!!
    Did you make the mirror too??

  2. You are so very talented; love this mantel!

  3. Just love that crusty ole’ mantel…or is it mantle? 🙂

  4. Pingback: Power of Paint: Gorgeous Gray Fireplace @ Fabulous Finishes

  5. Pingback: My Love Affair With American Paint Company – “The Mantel No. 2″ | Fabulously Finished

Leave a Reply

