How Much Can You Do In Two Hours Following Store Close?

Today was a crazy busy day – maybe it’s all the rain, or early summer yearnings to get a project done – whatever it is, people are out and about, showing an interest in painting and repurposing…

The front door closes, and it’s time to wrap things up – what did I get done in the two hours that followed?

This nightstand is for a pretty young girl that visited me today –

DSC_4375

Her mom bought this chest I’d painted using CeCe Portland Rose over Simply White for her bedroom (this young girl loves older pieces ūüôā ),¬† and later brought in the night stand and mirror to paint in the same finish-

DSC_6928

The girl (I wish I knew her name, darn it!) stopped by to ‘peek’ at the progress of her pieces.¬† Unfortunately, I’d only had the first coat (Simply White) on but it did give me a chance to ask her if she might want me to jazz up the front door panel – after all, that pink piece had such detail on it….¬†¬† She happily agreed!

I took some stone plaster that I like to use for stenciling relief and popped a raised design in the door panel-

DSC_4397

When it dries I’ll paint the whole piece Portland Rose then sand back to reveal the design.¬† I think she’ll love it!

I photo’d the new cans of American Paint Company wax that arrived today, and the new Topcoat Finish container -no more cans, this 16 ounce topcoat is in a squirt bottle!

DSC_4376

DSC_4378

DSC_4377

We also the two new colors from APC –¬† Born on the 4th of July,¬† a dark midnight navy blue

DSC_4385

and Uncle Sam, the new BRIGHT white¬† –¬†¬† all natural,¬† 100% green, chalk and clay and mineral based paint –

DSC_4386

Earlier we painted this side accent chest with APC Liberty, a pretty soft green. My thought was I could go over it with the new blue when it arrived (see the can of Born on the 4th open in front of it?)

DSC_4389

but then I thought,

Would it be cool if I put a  dimensional stencil down, maybe in a bronze green , and have that poke through the blue?

I got out the Caromal Textured Basecoat Bayberry – it has more body to it and will dry with dimension –

DSC_4387

To the Bayberry I mixed some metallic blackened bronze

DSC_4388

DSC_4391

The original plan was to stencil¬† the inner panels, but I didn’t stop at the ‘panel’ – I love the pattern of this stencil (no I do not carry this one, this from a company called Wallover¬† – Gabriels Gate)¬†¬†so I just continued it, creating an ALLOVER design –¬†¬†¬†¬† DSC_4392

It’s no fun stenciling over ‘dimension’ – high and low areas of a door –¬† you aren’t going to get a crisp edge. ¬† I wasn’t going for perfection, so I simply used a chip brush and JAMMED my paint into the design…

DSC_4393

I LOVED where it was going –¬†¬† in fact,¬† the blue APC Born on the Forth of July is out –¬† I see this piece going in a whole different direction…¬†¬† Where?¬† Not sure, but I’ll share when I get there!

DSC_4394

Then I had this chair that was 1/2 done – first layer CeCe Caldwell Santa Fe Turquoise, second coat CeCe Caldwell Mesa Sunset –

DSC_4399

My inspiration, the left side where its sealed AND aged all in one, with a black tinted wax (our store has pigments for purchase that can tint your waxes to a variety of colors)

DSC_4400

Sand sand sand…..

DSC_4401

Good enough…

  DSC_4402

Scrub on the black tinted wax

DSC_4403

DSC_4404

DSC_4405

Brush out smaller sections at a time,¬† then go back and wipe the excess…

  DSC_4407

DSC_4408

Inside spindles are no fun – I used a rag to reach those areas – rubbing it on –

DSC_4409

I REALLY wish I’d had some punk, subway kinda stencils – but the houndstooth worked fine – used American Paint Lincoln’s Hat for the stencil –

DSC_4419 DSC_4422 DSC_4424 DSC_4425

And then I called it a night!

DSC_4426

DSC_4428

YAY    BLING!!!!

DSC_4431 [1600x1200]

ARE YOU READY TO JOIN IN ON A WORKSHOP?

We have our August weekly workshop schedule posted

you can find it   here

ARE YOU READY TO GET your paint on?

We are a full service retailer

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS ARTISIAN COLLECTION

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

Leave a Reply

