A Liberty Chest, Done the American Paint Way…

I started with a small, wood accent chest – kindof a honey oak – I can’t find a before picture…

It’s first coat of paint was American Paint Co’s Liberty, a soft pale light green.  the intent was to use the NEW APC color – Born on the Forth of July – a dark, midnight blue, over it.

DSC_4389

APC Liberty, coat 1

  Before the blue was applied, I decided to add a dimensional stencil –  maybe a green bronze would be cool – and lay it INBETWEEN the 2 colors of paint…

DSC_4387

so I took the Caromal Colours textured basecoat Bayberry (for its thickness) and added a little metallic bronze to it, to make the color richer…

DSC_4388

Ready to stencil…

DSC_4391

I grabbed an allover stencil design and went to work  stenciling the front.  I originally thought I’d only detail the inner door panels,  but I liked the idea of going over EVERYTHING and creating an allover –  unexpected right?

DSC_4392

Doing so, however, forced me to have to stencil into cracks and gaps, and that was irritating… I held it and squished the thick paint into the stencil pattern best I could –  key here is

DO NOT EXPECT PERFECT.

DSC_4393

When I got the front done I LOVED it.  The color was such a compliment with the Liberty,  I no longer wanted to use the dark blue….

DSC_4394

I was seeing linen… faded… strie…. maybe thin hairs of turquoise….

DSC_4396

I came back a few days later with a clear head.  Born on the Fourth of July was still toying with me…   so I got it out, thinned it with water (big time) and dragged it, both ways, with a dry brush to create a linen effect in blue.

DSC_4534

APC’s Born on the Forth of July is such a dark blue, but when you add water it warms up to a pretty ocean blue…

DSC_4535

I got out the Liberty, added water to a little, and dragged that one too…

DSC_4536

DSC_4537

The sides and top I gave a quick 2nd coat of Liberty to,  crackling some areas with elmer’s glue

DSC_4538

The next day I sanded to get a nice smooth feel, then sealed it using American Paint Co’s Vintage Dark Wax.  This wax is sweet – brushes on effortlessly over  the raw chalk/clay painted surface, and wipes back clean and even

DSC_4543 DSC_4544

Scrubbing on – I use the waxes sparingly – push it around, until there’s no more to push…

DSC_4545

DSC_4546 DSC_4547

that’s ALL the same brush of wax – look how far I moved it…

DSC_4548

then dip back for more…

DSC_4550

I only dip the tips….

DSC_4551

Scrub it on…

DSC_4552

On ready to wipe –

DSC_4553

DSC_4554

DSC_4555

Brushing out the sides

DSC_4557

DSC_4558

Ready to wipe…

DSC_4560

Have enough clean rags handy – and fold them over, changing sides as you wipe off the wax –

DSC_4561 DSC_4562

Excess wiped off… wait a few hours then buff to a lovely sheen

DSC_4564

Done.

DSC_4565

DSC_4576 DSC_4605

I painted the back with a wash of the blue, and used a rubber stamp I have to ‘sign’ it 🙂  DSC_4580

and added a jewel!

DSC_4582

Of course  had to add a few crystals to the pull and fleurettes too…

DSC_4578 DSC_4569

Pretty young thing… I like it with the chair I recently finished –

DSC_4602

What are you waiting for?

We are a full service retailer

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

10 responses to “A Liberty Chest, Done the American Paint Way…

  1. I love it. can we buy the stencil from you?

  2. Thank you 🙂 No, I dont stock these but you can get from wallover.com

  3. That’s a great blog entry, thankyou for putting in such detail!

  4. nothing coming up at wallover.com. Are you sure that’s the name of the website? Thanks

  5. Pingback: The Colors Of American Paint – Smoke Signal, Dollar Bill, Liberty, Spacious Skies | Fabulously Finished

  6. Pingback: Waxing, Dark Waxing, Tinted Waxing, Over Chalk/Clay Paints… | Fabulously Finished

  7. Does anyone do PRIMITIVE anymore? I love chipped aged prim pieces!!!

Leave a Reply

