A Jolly Green Giant Presence – Vintage Dresser Goes Green Ombre…

This was a dresser I acquired from  Noelle back at the old store …

DSC_6973

It made the move with us to our new store in February, and became part of this pile-

DSC_0556

My goal has been to get through that stacked pile BEFORE bringing on too much more, after all, we know how easy it is to want to buy every ‘awesome furniture find/deal’ we see…   next thing you know your garage/barn/ workroom/studio  is stuffed to the gills!

American Paint Company, one of the lines of DIY paints I carry,  started a color of the week feature, and Home Turf was scheduled for end of July

hometurf-1024x680

APC HOME TURF – BRIGHT GREEN

Right around that time I sold one of my favorite pieces, my purple people eater

DSC_1046

I wanted to create another piece that would inspire my visitors, and this piece came to mind, so I unburied it, and gave it a wash down

DSC_4685

DSC_4684

and got all jiggly with the Home Turf!

DSC_4687

First coat Home Turf-

DSC_4688

DSC_4689

OOOOOOHhhh   so green…..

DSC_4690

Then I took Home Turf,  National Forest , and Uncle Sam

uncle sam

APC UNCLE SAM – BRIGHT WHITE

nationalforest-1024x682

APC NATIONAL FOREST – DARK GREEN

and created lighter and darker shades

DSC_4694

DSC_4695

and brushed those on, all together, until I liked how it looked –

DSC_4698

I used a damask stencil (we stock in store) and randomly added an element here/there,  using all of the colors,  and  gilded the front feet with silver leaf, something I love to do when the feet are pretty (like these)

DSC_4814

I added new knobs, switching out the front crystal with a limey green Swarovski-

DSC_4815

I sanded to refine the finish (I’m a sanding girl as I love how it smooths out my finish), then sealed it up using APC Clear Wax-

DSC_4985

DSC_4984

A few extra Swarovski added to accent carved elements-

DSC_4980

DSC_4978

The darker flecks in the stencil is from the metallic foil

DSC_4973

DSC_4971

DSC_4970

I love all the paint color options we offer, but I especially love when a finish is created from several colors.  The result is original, every part of the piece is it’s own creation –

DSC_4969

I took the old dingy wheels off – I like the purpose of the wheels but don’t like the look.  To dress up EVERY bottom I added a  flat faced crystal knob  – they pop nicely into the wheel holes, and can be removed easy during transport and/or not used if a customer doesn’t like-

DSC_4966

HELLO JOLLY GREEN JEANS!

DSC_4962

DSC_6973

DSC_4951

My kinda transformation –   Purples gone, but greens in!    And go figure,  I totally missed American Paint Company’s Color of the Week HOME TURF post 🙂

What are you waiting for?

OUR WORKSHOPS ARE A BLAST- JOIN US

you can find our August schedule  here

NEED PAINT?

We are a full service retailer

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

9 responses to “A Jolly Green Giant Presence – Vintage Dresser Goes Green Ombre…

  1. Gorgeous! Doesn’t even look the same! Love the bling!

  2. I love the look! As always, your work is so inspiring. I have a vanity that’s in need of a face lift and this color combo may just be the one as I have green accents in my room. Thanks!

  3. I really like the ombre look. It is so hot in textiles this year.

  4. very nice.

  5. I LOVE your work! These dressers are gorgeous!! I’m your newest follower. I’m going to share this green dresser photo on my FB page 🙂

  6. Pingback: Power of Paint: Green Ombre Dresser from Fabulous Finishes

  7. Brittany Crawford

    This looks great! Did you have to sand the dresser before initially painting it?

    • Hi Brittany, We do not sand, strip or prime with any of our paints. And thanks that was a really neat piece!

      On Mon, Jul 27, 2015 at 1:42 PM, Fabulously Finished wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

