A Serving Buffet Served Up The CeCe Caldwell Way – Paintalicious!

This post starts a series of posts I’m classifying    “Get caught up already!”

I have folders upon folders, saved on my computer, filled with paint projects I’ve done,  ideas and  how to’s –  all saved with the intent of sharing them here.    My goal is to grab any free moments I can find, and get these posted  – back to sharing  ideas more regularly.

I’ve always enjoyed blogging – it’s been a great outlet for me, but when I blog it usually turns into a several hour session – just for one post!  I know that sounds crazy,  ask any adult that can relate to ADD symptoms, they’ll tell you the same thing.  My mind is all over the place trying to create a post.   In my previous life (one that didn’t include a storefront)  I had more time AND space in my mind  –   now, the free time is rarer, and often when I try to squeak out a post I’ll find myself falling asleep on my laptop!

People will tell me  ‘Get someone to help you – let THEM write your posts!”  Make it easy on yourself.    It’s not that easy.  For me, my blog posts are PERSONAL.  I don’t want someone else trying to write for me  –   yuk.  

Enough babbling, on to posting…

I found this at an estate sale last year –

DSC_5237

I see these kinds of pieces a lot, in different shapes and forms,  a server on wheels –  makes great sense…

DSC_5238

The base was ‘kindof’  a white already, but not crisp enough for me, so I decided to paint the body white using CeCe Caldwell’s SIMPLY WHITE

sim white

I wanted the top to stand out, but still be neutral enough to fit in with someone’s decor, so I based it using CeCe Caldwell’s Virginia Chestnut

virg

DSC_5312

and then painted over that with using CeCe’s Smoky Mountain Gray (LOVE)

smoky

DSC_5590

I sanded the top back a little –   this knocks off that crispy feel, and turns my brush strokes into more of a straight graining effect.  I explain to my customers and workshop attendees that you don’t HAVE to sand your painted finish – it isn’t a requirement to play with these chalk/clay based paints.   But I ALWAYS sand before I seal my painted finish  – a few seconds of a 180 grit sand paper makes an amazing difference in the look AND feel of your finish.

After I sand I’ll take a dry rag and wipe off the dust, and then proceed to topcoat.  With this buffet I went outside the ‘all natural’ route of topcoats and instead grabbed my Liberon Medium Oak Paste Wax

lib

Though this wax is considered solvent based, it’s pretty mild –  I call it my “Dirty Wax” and use it when I want a color to go rich and grungy .  It dries quick and buffs up to a really nice sheen.    I don’t use it over light colors like the whites or offwhites – it would dirty too much.   It rocks over  colors like blues, grays,  greens, oranges….

DSC_5618

As I work a piece I’ll often change directions as I go.   See the inside shelf and pull out drawer?

DSC_5312

I thought it would be cool to do something different with those.  I removed both and created my Reptile Hide Texture finish  (you can find the how-to’s for that in my youtube video here)

The textured plaster, drying

DSC_5622

Closeup –

DSC_5623

You can see the shelf drying in this picture, as I’m painting the inside cabinet Simply White –

DSC_5616

The rest of the piece was sealed using CeCe Caldwell’s Satin Finish – why?  Well on this piece it was for ease – brush on let dry and voila.  This girlie didn’t want to go back and buff out an inside cabinet or doors full of spindles!

DSC_5624

This piece is long gone,  I forgot how pretty it turned out…

DSC_5628

DSC_5632

DSC_5634

DSC_5635

DSC_5636

Quite functional!

DSC_5637

DSC_5648

Of course, I can’t complete a piece without SOME kind of bling, right?  🙂

DSC_5952

ARE YOU READY TO GET your paint on?

  our online store carries all the paints and sundries you’ll need

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

If you’re local to Metro Detroit stop by our  retail studio

Fully stocked paints and  specialty finishing products

metallics, dimensional plasters, waxes, powder pigments, glazes, gilding supplies

One Stop Shopping

brushes, drill brushes, stencil brushes, sandpaper, whiz rollers

Fabulous Finishes Retail Studio

51350 Van Dyke Rd,  Shelby Twp MI 48316

SUMMER HOURS  

T,W,F   10am – 5pm       Th  10am-630pm         Sat 11am-5pm

we are closed Sunday and Monday

PAINT WITH US AT ONE OF OUR WEEKLY WORKSHOPS!

Sign up for one of our weekly workshops –   come with a friend, a child, a hubby – bring a group – or just come solo and enjoy the rest of us –

We won’t disappoint you!

 

2 responses to “A Serving Buffet Served Up The CeCe Caldwell Way – Paintalicious!

  1. I appreciate your blogs and how to’s tremendously! Your work is an inspiration to me and I keep everything u send out in a file, which I use often. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

