A Waterfall Vanity Painted and Painted and….Finally A Home

This waterfall vanity had been around awhile, I finished it at the old store, using CeCe Caldwell’s chalk and clay paint – Simply White

DSC_8668

On the drawer panels I stenciled a damask design in using Caromal’s thicker textured basecoat paint – the color was Putty – a color I love to use under the white chalk/clays…

DSC_8699

To do this you’d stencil FIRST – the Caromal paints stick to any and every surface, so it can go right over your  old piece of furniture – then when it dries paint over it with your chalk/clay paint.  Wait for that to dry then sand the surface and voila, the pattern appears – like those books we had as kids where you’d scratch the coin over something to see your design!

DSC_8702

I did the same thing to the chair, and gave the hardware a metallic facelift and a few sparkles.  I don’t particularly care for the retro look of them, but its more trouble to try to find replacements that will fit so I used what I had

DSC_8695

It sat,  waiting for the perfect customer…   buy me, buy me, buy me!

DSC_8693

DSC_8674

Sadly,  no one did and it moved with us to our new store in February.

DSC_0678

Around this same time we were planning ANOTHER move – this time, the place we call home –  we were finally going to have our OWN nest again!

My daughter was the most excited.   At sixteen years old-  it was more important to her than I realized – she wanted to define her own space.  She couldn’t WAIT to paint her walls turquoise…    She needed a vanity of some sort, something more grown up where she could sit and get ready each day…..

Guess what she grabbed?

Yup, she claimed the vanity – and proceeded to make it her own.

DSC_4105

She  used American Paint chalk and clay paint Surfboard, and brushed over the drawer fronts…

DSC_4100

brushed over the hardware …

DSC_4108

added more bling

DSC_4110

prettied up the drawers…

DSC_4109

She took an old chair from my backroom and painted that Surfboard too, embellished it,  even changed the fabric and glued on trimmings…

DSC_4103

DSC_4102

Didn’t she do an awesome job?

DSC_4095

DSC_4094

Fit for a princess 🙂

DSC_4099

DSC_4098

I love that she loves to create…  and shes really good at it!

DSC_4093

She is finally home

DSC_5644

This post has a special place in my heart… when what I knew as our ‘life’ seemingly fell apart a few years ago, one of the hardest things I had to deal with was the guilt I felt in having to uproot my kids from what they always knew as HOME.  Yes, we moved to a temporary nice place, but it was never our HOME.  We were together, we were grateful,  but it wasn’t the same.

My daughter, this week, had to write a paper for English about a turning point in your life.  She left a copy in my room.  It broke my heart to reread her version of our life event –  but I loved this part near the end:

…I am actually thankful in a way for having to go through this mess because it taught me a lot of things. In life there is no way to avoid so called ‘turning points’, whether good or bad you just have to push yourself by…

God blessed us this June, with a new place to call OUR OWN. It was a joy to pretty up my daughter’s room.   The vanity, and my family, have a place to call home!!

If you liked the vanity, and are interested in giving your own piece a new look, check us out – we’ve  got everything  you need to help you do that-

OUR WORKSHOPS ARE A BLAST- JOIN US weekly

you can find our Fall schedule  here

NEED PAINT?

We are a full service retailer

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

WANT MORE INSPIRATION?

satnitenew150w-1

ShabbyNest-GrabButton

show and tell fridays

fabcy-fridays-button

shine_on_friday

9565231442_83e0cc4cc5_q

One response to “A Waterfall Vanity Painted and Painted and….Finally A Home

  1. I LOVE what you have done. You should come show off your creativity starting at 8PM CST at Craft Frenzy Friday! http://obsessiveandcreative.blogspot.com/2013/09/craft-frenzy-friday-6.html It won’t be a party without you!

Leave a Reply

