A Desk, Painted and Pewter-fied…

The before-

DSC_6172

My plan was to use one of my gray chalk/clay paints (Smoke Signal)  and then seal with Clear Wax tinted with some Pewter Mica Powder.  I wanted to see how ‘silvery/pewtery’ of a finish this would create.

I decided to create a wood grain finish on the desktop and started by brushing a thin, watered down, layer of  Caromal textured basecoat putty. Over that I brushed a layer of  custom brown chalk/clay paint,  with some black dragged in as well.  When that dried I sanded to reveal some putty underneath, then sealed it.  I added a few layers of faux woodgrain using waterbased  stains.

When the top and base were dry I decided to add a new stencil to the side panels.  I used a darker gray chalk/clay paint (Freedom Road cut with Smoke Signal) but when it dried it looked blue gray…   and I didn’t like it.

And I didn’t like the knobs…..

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

I changed direction and and took that custom brown chalk/clay paint and repainted the side panels.  Then I used elmers glue  and crackled the gray chalk/clay paint (Smoke Signal) back over it –

ce ce caldwell american paint company  chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

Drying…

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

I redid the top again too – I had messed it up by light sanding a ‘nib’ I felt, and when the nib sanded off it left a putty colored ‘dot’ underneath ….   !@#%^^*   Arrgh,  so I sanded lightly tried to patch the spot, and THAT didnt’ work.  I ended up having to almost start over – this time I used the custom brown mix and some blue/gray chalk clay paint (Dollar Bill) – THEN sealed, and grained again….

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax wood grain finish

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax wood grain top

Once it was all painted gray (Smoke Signal) and dry,  I sanded to refine and make the finish smoother.

I sealed the paint with Clear Wax mixed with APC’s Pewter Mica Powder.   I didn’t go heavy with the mica, because it doesn’t take much to ‘see’ it –  but even with a lighter mix, I found it created an uneven finish – some areas were more pewtery, almost splotchy looking to my eye.

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax crackle chalk clay

So I changed directions, lightly sanded over what I’d done, then started again with a mix of APC Dark Wax AND the pewter mica wax.  I found if I had the dark wax soak in first, then brush the pewter wax over it and blend, I had more control and a more even finish-

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

Even though I was getting somewhere with the colors, I was stumbling on the style of the piece – I liked that it had the upper drawer thingy, I liked the raised  top-like  balls on the front,  but then the rest of the piece was so…. student desk ?

And, back up again to the only EARLY picture I have, none of the knobs I had were doing it any justice…..

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

I decided to ‘flash gild’ the balls with the Pewter Mica.  To do this I used my finger and swiped on some Sticky Size (Caromal Colours) (you could use any other type size too), waited a minute or two, then dipped my finger in the Pewter Mica, smooshed it over the sticky ball, and continued until the sticky was covered with pewter.  Don’t wax your balls if you’re going to sticky size them 🙂 else it will just come right off.

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

I also dug out some bronze knobs and flash gilded each one, topped it off with a swarovski crystal in the center..  These perfectly complimented the smaller flower knobs I used on the top two drawers – I added a little flash gild of pewter to those as well, so everything would tie together –

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

Checking it all out again,  I didn’t like this side.  The paint I’d brushed on to crackle wasn’t thick enough in some spots and I didn’t like how those spots were darker.   And on the top drawer I had had a blob of paint collect on the edge and when I sanded to clean it up it took too much paint off…

DSC_6541

So, I painted OVER the crackle panels with a mix of  Smoke Signal and that custom brown color I’d mixed earlier (like layers earlier 🙂 ).   I painted over them, thinning with water as I painted, so it wasn’t on too thick, just enough to take away those darker brown spots …  then I light sanded and sealed with the waxes – the result was an allover aged, crackled, weathered panel

DSC_6567

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

To remedy my drawer-sanded-too-much problem, I got out Smoke Signal and some Plymouth Rock (light light gray), and applied that mix over the two drawer units.  I used water as I brushed it on, so it would be a thinner coat, and I didn’t sand to remove the previous wax that was already there.  The result was, when I sanded the new dried paint it came off in areas easier –  which gave it a really cool look.   Once more, I rewaxed it all and buffed with the drill brush when dry –

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

Next to my favorite silver finished piece (in the foreground) , this gray with pewter mica didn’t look as metallic as I thought it would –

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax silver finish

but it’s still a pretty color, and I especially like the dark wax,  it added some depth to the finish

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax fabulous finishes

Love the drawers on top, and I like that they are removable!

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax fabulous finishes

Darn if I didn’t forget to photo the insides of the drawers –  I stenciled in each of them… I’ll have to add those on later

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax fabulous finishes

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax fabulous finishes smoke signal

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax fabulous finishes smoke signal

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica wax

ce ce caldwell american paint company chalk clay mineral paint pewter mica waxv fabulous finishes

I THINK that was everything ?

DSC_6583

To get to this look you can use:

Textured Base – Caromal textured basecoat Putty

Soft Gray Base-    APC Smoke Signal  or  CeCe  Seattle Mist

Brown in Top  –  APC Wild Horses + Home Turf or  CeCe Virginia Chestnut + Spring Hill Green

Black in Top –  APC Lincoln’s Hat  or  CeCe Beckley Coal

Blue in  Top –  APC Dollar Bill  or  CeCe Smoky Mountain Gray

Top Sealer  –  APC Topcoat Finish or  CeCe Satin Finish

Wax  –   APC Vintage Clear Wax  or  CeCe Clear Wax

Mica Pewter –  APC Mica Pewter

Dark Wax  –   APC Vintage Dark Wax

NEED PAINT?  

We ship anywhere, everywhere

EVERY COLOR IN THE CHALK/CLAY PAINT RAINBOW

shop.fabfinisher.com

 

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

OUR WORKSHOPS ARE A BLAST- JOIN US weekly

you can find our Fall schedule  here

7 responses to “A Desk, Painted and Pewter-fied…

  1. I have bought almost every book there is and taken the classes they offer in my area but I would love to spend a month with you learning every technique there is because your so gifted. This is the very best I have seen anyone do. And I look at every furniture page there is your a perfectionist and anyone that gets one of your pieces of furniture has art! If you ever give a week long class I would be willing to travel to learn from you! Sincerely Sheryll

  2. Hey, I love this one! I still want to see some more Primitive, Chippy, distressed looks! I love the primitive style!

  3. Melinda Costello

    I agree with Sheryll Patty, you are truly a gifted artist! Your work is amazing! Love your work and your tutorials.

  4. Pingback: The Pewter-fied Desk Amplified – Drawer and Knob Detail | Fabulously Finished

Leave a Reply

