Cracklin My Chalk And Clay, And Paintin My Shoes!

We had a Level II workshop earlier this week, and one of the boards we worked up was a chalk/clay paint crackle, using school glue

DSC_7337

We know the process,  brushing on a layer of school glue,  and while wet brushing chalk/clay paint over it – and then watching it crack as it dries.

DSC_6529

My first youtube video was crackling  (you can find it here  CRACKLE VIDEO)

DSC_7339

A simple enough concept, but one that can cause  a few loud, frusturating sighs.  There is something unnatural about painting OVER a layer of gooey glue.  You have to be  careful not to push/pull/over stroke it,  you need enough paint but not too much paint….

So, it was a pleasant surprise when I was playing  around  and found that the chalk/clay paint  cracks over a layer of DRIED GLUE!

DSC_7341

This excites me…     When you brush over a layer of dried glue, you don’t have to worry about over-fiddling – you can just brush on your layer of paint like you would if you weren’t going over glue….   AND  it creates a little finer of a crackle,  not so potent,  which would make a better overall crackle if you wanted larger areas covered.

So I took this old board that was painted CeCe Nantucket Spray , and a pair of shoes (keep reading)

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

I painted the right side with a metallic silver – I wanted to see if this would work over a metallic paint base)  and then applied glue to both sides

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

The top 1/2 of each side I applied the glue in a stippled fashion

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

the bottom 1/2 of each side I brushed the layer of glue smooth

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

While I waited for that to dry I started my second experiment – seeing if it would work on my old leather shoes.

I stippled the glue on

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

and then waited for it to dry.

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

Once dry I grabbed the CeCe Caldwell’s Pittsburgh Gray

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

and brushed an even coat over the dried glue

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

and I waited for that to dry.  If you click on the photo you can see that the paint did indeed crackle, even over the leather, but it was pretty fine – not heavy enough for my taste…

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes

I got out my Liberon wax,  figured that would be a good way to seal up my shoes

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

I even gave a quick swipe to the rest of the shoe, to brighten up the leather

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

Wiped the excess…

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

then did the other…

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

When it dried I took the buffer to it…

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

to give them a nice shine –

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

It was working fabulously!

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

 Is this not a hoot?

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

I am realizing that I have REAL style baby….    (sheeeeesh!)

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

SPIFFY!

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

On a serious note,  isn’t this fun?  I did this three days ago, and honestly, I’ve worn these shoes to work ever since!  They are so comfortable, and now they don’t just look like wide, frumpy black shoes.

crackle chalk clay paint painting shoes  cece caldwell

Back to the crackle board.   For the top color I chose CeCe Traverse City Red –

DSC_7304

brushed it on –

DSC_7305

Quick and easy…

DSC_7306

and then I look down and think

“Oh my gosh, I LOVE my new shoes!”

DSC_7307

Right side is the Traverse City Red over Metallic Blend –  it worked fine over  the metallic base,  and the left side is the Traverse City Red over Nantucket Spray

DRIED GLUE in the middle.

DSC_7321

Notice how the top half created a broken allover crackle, from stippling on the glue.  The bottom half, where the glue was brushed on, created longer cracks…

DSC_7327

Sealed off with Clear Wax and Gold Mica

DSC_7328

Now THAT would have been fancy on my shoes!   🙂

Happy Painting! 

NEED PAINT?  

We ship anywhere, everywhere

EVERY COLOR IN THE CHALK/CLAY PAINT RAINBOW

shop.fabfinisher.com

 

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

chalk clay paint, caromal colours, reclaim, fabulous finishes, shop online, shop.fabfinisher.com

OUR WORKSHOPS ARE A BLAST- JOIN US weekly

you can find our Fall schedule  here

We linked up with –

CraftFrenzyFriday

Show-Off-Friday-Button-150x150135

linkparty

1aaadoveladygfairy006

ShabbyNest-GrabButton

6 responses to “Cracklin My Chalk And Clay, And Paintin My Shoes!

  1. You are adorable! Love the shoes and the crackle lesson!

  2. You made my day with that picture of you buffing your shoes!!! Amazing how they turned out!

    _______________ Jeff Marler Sent from iPhone

    >

  3. Hahahaha ha, I love it! I haven’t laugh so hard all day! Ps got your replies and am coming up with a plan soon thanks you a the BEST!

  4. You are a genius! I love how you showed the difference between stippling the glue and brushing it. I have done the glue technique, but was not happy with those long cracks, and also not happy with painting over wet glue!

    And well the shoes, the shoes are what make you FABULOUS!!

  5. Thank you for this!!!
    fun reading!!!
    will this also work with enamel paint?

  6. I don’t know We don’t carry any enamel paints BUT if you try it let us know!

Leave a Reply

