Freedom! It Feels Good, And It Looks Fabulous! American Paint Company’s Freedom Road

Who’s in for a romantic darker gray?

Great name,  FREEDOM ROAD.   It’s American Paint Company’s darker gray

american paint company, fereedom road, dark gray chalk clay mineral paint

it reminds me of this

freedom road color

I started with this little sewing table.  I had an idea to modge podge this paper on the fronts of the drawers

easy diy furniture paint , caromal colours, american paint company, fabulous finishes

and then do the rest of the piece in Caromal Colours textured basecoat Candy Apple –

   easy diy furniture paint , caromal colours, textured basecoat candy apple, fabulous finishes

So I started to apply the Candy Apple,  first coat brushed on thin –

easy diy furniture paint , caromal colours, textured basecoat candy apple, fabulous finishes

I painted over the some of the drawer front paper  – I didn’t want it to look too ‘new fresh paper’  , and didn’t like that…   so I scraped off all the paper, and painted the drawers candy apple

easy diy furniture paint , caromal colours, modge podge drawers, fabulous finishes

I didn’t even have the whole piece basecoated yet, and new the Candy Apple alone wasn’t going to work for me….   then I got an idea,

I’ll do a pretty gray over the pretty red, and reveal back!

American Paint Freedom Road – one coat washed over the whole piece (by washed I mean I brushed out a coat thin, and then MOVED it easier by introducing a teeny bit of water – you can do this by dipping your brush tips into water or even spritzing a fine mist from a squirt bottle-

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com,  fabulous finishes

then I lightly sanded with a 180 grit paper –  you can see the fronts are sanded, side isn’t…  it will powder up when you sand, but no big shakes, wipe that off and your color will come back to life when you seal it

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com,  fabulous finishes

Can’t forget the legs…   OOPs, forgot a spot!

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com,  fabulous finishes

I sealed this pretty little thing with a mix of  American Paint Company’s Clear Wax  and a tinted Pewter Mica Wax.

Sorry I dont have pictures of this, I just mixed it , scrubbed on and was done – but I did dig out these pictures which are perfect –

This one shows the pewter wax mixed up – use some clear and mix in a little mica powder until you get to the wax intensity  you like –

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

A little mica goes a long way,  you can use it full strength to create a real cool flash gilding – read my post  How To Use Mica Powders for play by play photos on mixing and using the micas –

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, pewter mica powder,  fabulous finishes

Pewter Mica Powder

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

American Paint Company Clear Wax and Pewter Mica

Back to my Freedom Road over Candy Apple – I sealed this piece using part APC Clear Wax and part APC Pewter Wax –  same brush,  same time,  just grabbing both on my brush –  brushing it on, following the grain of the wood, and kindof scrubbing it in as I go.

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

You don’t need much wax – APC wax is the most heavenly all natural wax, it glides on with ease, and I glide it and move it until there isn’t more to move, THEN I grab a little more and continue on –

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

I painted the inside of the drawer with American’s lighter gray – Smoke Signal – and stenciled a little design using Toner.  I like adding little unexpected surprises

 easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

When the wax dries (doesnt take long, couple hours) –  buff it to a lovely sheen –  this Pewter Mica added a pretty shimmer to that dark gray – I love it

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

ROYAL

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

perfectly romantic.

easy diy furniture paint , american paint company, chalk clay mineral paint, shop.fabfinisher.com, mica pewter, wax,  fabulous finishes

american paint colors

If you’re in the Metro Detroit stop by and visit-

we’ve got a great variety of paints to fit your EVERY need!

 Monday    closed

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday  10am-5pm

Thursday   10am – 630pm

Saturday  10am – 4pm

NEED PAINT?  

We ship anywhere, everywhere

even international!

EVERY COLOR IN THE CHALK/CLAY PAINT RAINBOW

shop.fabfinisher.com

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BEAUTIFUL , FINISHES BY M HARRELL

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

CE CE CALDWELL CHALK/CLAY PAINTS – clearance prices, get it till its gone!!

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

chalk clay paint, caromal colours, reclaim, fabulous finishes, shop online, shop.fabfinisher.com

OUR WORKSHOPS ARE A BLAST-

We’d love to have you bring a small piece and join us – they usually sell out so if you see a date you like,  call and register

you can find our 2014 schedule  here

8 responses to “Freedom! It Feels Good, And It Looks Fabulous! American Paint Company’s Freedom Road

  1. Adorable! I have this exact sewing cabinet and use it to store napkins and napkin rings. This looks awesome, I might have to consider a new look for mine.

  2. You created a beautiful finish–it looks great!

  3. Love this finish, you are making it hard for me to place my order, every time I think I have ordered everything I want I see some other awesome finish you have made, now I have to try that Anerican paint too! 🙂 you are so stinking talented! Lol

  4. I like it!

  5. Hey , I just contacted you about placing an order on the shopping page, and i am not sure it went through, which way do you prefer to be bugged, I mean contacted? Let me know if you don’t get it if you get a chance

    Thanks Tina Liebstein

    • lol – email is best, when i get questions through fb or even texts, they get lost in the shuffle – my emails i keep in the inbox until i answer them – if you sent a question thru the store sight im pretty certain it will come in via email – i’ll be sure to look for it

Leave a Reply

