Flashback – Where I First Started Creating….

Clearing out my media discs, trying to sort and organize – I came across these photos

DSC_0253

Oh my goodness…

productwall

I am getting antsy looking at these-   SO congested!

DSC_0244

At the same time, I REMEMBER….

DSC_0245

I started my finishing business, Fabulous Finishes,  as a mom of a first and second grader.  My husband was supportive –  he let me,  multiple times,  leave home and skip across states to take week long finishing courses,  where upon I’d return home to my  STUDIO-

DSC_0246

My studio was in our basement – a very cool basement but I’d say 95% finished…..   I had no where to set up except in this corner of our furnace room –

DSC_0247

Can you believe, I had all this crazy stuff within feet of the furnace?   That plywood board, below, was where I’d clamp my sample boards, and devise new finishes for potential clients…

DSC_0248

 

Often, my daughter would sit on the floor and create art with her paints…

DSC_0249

And now I come to work here…

DSC_1910

DSC_1900

Crazy.

God is really amazing….

COME LEarn WITH US

BE  inSPIRED  with  US

You can find our workshop details  here  Workshops.

If you’re looking to paint with guidance, learn new products and techniques, or just looking for a great night out with friends or hubbies, check us out – I promise, you will not be disappointed!

If you’re in the Metro Detroit stop by and visit-

we’ve got a great variety of paints to fit your EVERY need!

new summer hours

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MONDAYS    CLOSED

TUESDAYS     10AM – 6PM

WEDNESDAYS    11AM – 7PM

THURSDAYS    12PM – 8PM

FRIDAYS     10AM – 5PM

SATURDAYS    9AM  – 1PM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NEED PAINT?  

We ship , everywhere  even international!

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods  –  if this describes you,  please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process.   Our customers from afar are just as important as our local customers –  when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

shop.fabfinisher.com

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BEAUTIFUL , FINISHES BY M HARRELL

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

chalk clay paint, caromal colours, reclaim, fabulous finishes, shop online, shop.fabfinisher.com

6 responses to “Flashback – Where I First Started Creating….

  1. Carol Carrasco

    Thanks for sharing this as I’m currently working out of my basement and garage…they look very similar to your pictures. I always feel like I should be more organized but I always get so caught up creating I leave a trail behind me. I would love to have a shop but am probably too old to realize that dream so I really enjoy watching your shop grow…I can just imagine all the hard work that has gotten you to this point…and God’s grace of course.

    • Carol – its hard to get ‘organized’ if you’re working in a small space, it so easily gets ‘filled up’ and then over piled – not like we dont know whats where, right? just can be a little overwhelming…. but like you said, in the end it doesnt matter – you’re too busy letting go, and creating! I will add,
      there were definite advantages that I had working from home – starting with overhead (lol) –

  2. Mainely Vintage

    Patty… You have so many achievements! Loved looking at this and thank you for all of your inspirations.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Amazing! Thank you for the inspiration! Some of us just starting out are still working out of our crazy corners ! Seeing how a wife and mother can have it all is just what I needed to see today! I know you have worked hard to get where you are ! Enjoy your blessings! Thanks again for constantly reminding me to dream big! T

  4. it is possible, Tina – and the beauty of starting small is the key when you’ve got more mommy responsibilities – for a mom, that will always trump anything else – being able to sneak away and let that creativity out, while still being at home, was a win win – and all those times I could have them join me , even with their friends, and make it ”fun’ – while still working – awesome! Keeping creating!

Leave a Reply

