In Honor Of The Red White and Blue… American Paint Style

I was looking through my work pictures, trying to find  a ‘before’ of the bathroom at my store –  this last week I decided 1  1/2 years was long enough to have an ugly restroom…

Instead of finding the pre-bathroom picture, I found this project, waiting to be shared, and thought it appropriate for this holiday weekend 🙂

I garbage picked this dresser- the shell was solid but the inside guts were junk- a piece not worthy to paint and sell, but perfect for a floor display, which I was in need of when I acquired the American Paint line  (yes, over a year ago – told you I had alot of projects to share 🙂 ).

DSC_2141

The plan was to use Blue Jeans, Shining Seas,Fireworks Red and Navajo White and see what I could come up with-

DSC_2143

DSC_2142

DSC_2149

I brushed Blue Jeans out on top, and then brushed fat stripes with Shining Seas.  The front went Fireworks Red, and the sides got a mix of it all, creating a cool darker blue…

blue jeans, shining seas, fireworks redI had stamped white fleur d’lis ‘s on the sides – liked the ‘white’ but didn’t like the pattern…

DSC_2151

Played with more paint, watering it down, letting it drip….

DSC_2153

I knew what it needed –  stars!

DSC_2158

DSC_2159

DSC_2160

I gave the paint finish a light sanding

DSC_2190

then sealed it using American’s  Topcoat Finish

topcoat finish

Star knobs on the front, not function, more for decoration…

DSC_2193

DSC_2201

DSC_2198

DSC_2203

DSC_2204Dug out this ribbon and liked how it looked – how could I incorporate?

DSC_2223

I covered the insides of the shelves using cuttings of burlap, the ribbon worked perfect as a skirt –

DSC_2291

I tacked it on with upholstery tacks…

DSC_2301

DSC_7850

Now the perfect ending –  last night we were at friends celebrating the 4th.  My son was with his buddies for a night of fireworks and camp fires. He came home today, still in his clothes from yesterday, and his shoulders looked wierd – like remnants of blue – maybe a temporary tatoo?   Firework powder/resin?

Nope –  he told me he drove by the store last night (he has a key, which maybe I need to rethink) –  because he wanted to ‘wear’ his spirit/freedom –  he told me the Shining Seas, Fireworks Red and Uncle Sam were perfect!

fabulous finishes, metro detroit, painted chalk clay arms

Goof ball – he better not have left me dirty brushes!

fabulous finishes, painting body, flags, chalk clay paint, american paint

And this be our motto, ‘In God is our trust’”
– USA National Anthem, Third Verse – See more at: http://www.usachristianministries.com/us-history-quotes-about-god-and-the-bible/#sthash.40z9qHM1.dpuf
And this be our motto, ‘In God is our trust’”
– USA National Anthem, Third Verse – See more at: http://www.usachristianministries.com/us-history-quotes-about-god-and-the-bible/#sthash.40z9qHM1.dpuf

And this be our motto, ‘In God is our trust’”

– USA National Anthem, Third Verse

ii

COME LEarn WITH US

BE  inSPIRED  with  US

You can find our workshop details  here  Workshops.

If you’re looking to paint with guidance, learn new products and techniques, or just looking for a great night out with friends or hubbies, check us out – I promise, you will not be disappointed!

If you’re in the Metro Detroit stop by and visit-

we’ve got a great variety of paints to fit your EVERY need!

new summer hours

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MONDAYS    CLOSED

TUESDAYS     10AM – 6PM

WEDNESDAYS    11AM – 7PM

THURSDAYS    12PM – 8PM

FRIDAYS     10AM – 5PM

SATURDAYS    9AM  – 1PM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NEED PAINT?  

We ship , everywhere  even international!

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods  –  if this describes you,  please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process.   Our customers from afar are just as important as our local customers –  when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

shop.fabfinisher.com

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY CHALK/CLAY PAINTS

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

BEAUTIFUL

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the  store button below.

chalk clay paint, caromal colours, reclaim, fabulous finishes, shop online, shop.fabfinisher.com

And this be our motto, ‘In God is our trust’”
– USA National Anthem, Third Verse – See more at: http://www.usachristianministries.com/us-history-quotes-about-god-and-the-bible/#sthash.40z9qHM1.dpuf
And this be our motto, ‘In God is our trust’”
– USA National Anthem, Third Verse – See more at: http://www.usachristianministries.com/us-history-quotes-about-god-and-the-bible/#sthash.40z9qHM1.dpuf
One response to “In Honor Of The Red White and Blue… American Paint Style

  1. William Strauss

     Patty, this is absolutely awesome!!!  I LOVE what you did with this…how perfect for a display for this company.  I especially love the idea of the rustic ribbon tacked on the bottom as a ‘skirt’, and the dripping paint on the sides, that totally ‘work’. I would never thought of either of those ideas.  And you gotta love your son’s spirit!!  LOL!    Question:  I’m planning on painting my laminate countertop….I have seen so many tutorials where people have used just plain cheapy acrylic paints to do a granite-look, but I really love the look of the ones you’ve done with chalk paint, and I’ve seen a couple of others online too (they are few and far between, I’ll tell ya).   Do you know if your clients have liked the results, durability wise?  I just don’t want to be sorry a year from now, going with chalk paint on a kitchen counter.  What do you think?    Hope you had a great holiday weekend!   ~Amy

Leave a Reply

