Our Customer’s Paint Projects – Sharing Post

Share time –

Pam G says

You inspired me with the chess table you had in the store. I love how this turned out….I used Reclaim Pebble and  Reclaim Licorice followed by brown Toner

pam licorice and pebble

What a perfect table to checker, love it!

This chest looks like it came from the wild wild west…

before buggy

Part 1 of it’s facelift was refinishing the drawers at one of our Paint a Piece Workshops.    The drawers were based with Reclaim Mocha, then a metallic finish applied over top.  Lastly  the drawers were lined up on the floor, and a large oversized damask stencil was applied using Toner

buggy drawers after

At home, the rest of the chest was painted Reclaim Mocha (2 coats for solid coverage) and the sides were completed like the drawer fronts –

buggy after

Lastly, new knobs were added…

buggy after 2

and how is THAT for a transformation?

buggy after 3

Totatlly updated,  no longer a buggy riding cowboy 🙂

buggy after 4LOVE IT!

 A salon owner updates this service table with APC Chenille Bedspread and Cheetah Foil application on the surfaces and legs….

after purple foil

Joy knocked her kitchen cabinets out of the park !

DSC_0732

Robin shared –

So I had an ugly shiny gold metal storage trunk.  Think 1990s.  Unfortunately my hard drive crashed so I lost my “before” picture, but i found something that shows how horrible the gold was,  so i attached that as my before….

before like the trunk robin

I was going to throw it away, but its bones were good quality.   Then, I saw a similar style trunk in Pottery Barn for $499

pottery barn 500 bucks robin inspiration

My brain said Stop!  like when a needle gets dragged over a record… haha,   $499 –  really??

Luckily, I had been reading your blog for a while, and remembered you said Caromal paints adheres to pretty much anything… could I repurpose it?  Seemed like a nice small project to start with.

By sending you a quick picture of the Pottery Barn Item,  and my goal of a dark trunk,  you suggested:   lightening Caromal Textured Basecoat black (Peppercorn)  with some white (Wisteria)  if I wanted grey, OR as i decided on… off black.  I did 2 coats of that over the entire piece

during trunk robin

and then brushed the bronze on only the trim.  I finished with Toner,  and finally a coat of clear wax.   Love it !!!

 redone_trunk robin

We love it too!

We shared part of this do-over before, Kim attended one of our Paint A Piece Workshops with this lovely vintage chair

IMG_0594

She painted it with several thin coats of Caromal Textured Basecoat Parchment, and then added an overglaze (I think she used Coffee Glaze)

kim during

She was in the store again, and this time showed me a picture of it, completely put back together,  along with a foot stool that she finished the same way –  is this not a gorgeous chair?

kim waldorf after

Laura had a bedroom set that she had grown tired of

 laura before 2

laura before 3

Gorgeous pieces…. she wanted black

laura  2

laura after 3

I used Reclaim Licorice and metallic Silver Blend. Thank you for all your help. I am so pleased with the outcome!!!

Laura

Dawn shared

Base was once cream and gold 70’s French Provincial. I used a random mix of APC Saddle, Leather Boots, with a little Sedona Red and Fireworks Red on the high spots. I ended up having to do 2 coats because it seemed to drink the paint and a light sanding had me seeing the cream. I then painted the gold detail in the recesses like it had been before. I put on one coat of Beckley Coal and lightly sanded to show some of the under color. I am planning on putting APC Dark Wax on as a finish. I sanded and restained the top.

dawn 1

dawn 2

Lisa updated this little accent table

lisa before 1

using Caromal Colours Botanical paint color Boxwood, and finished it off with black wax –   pretty!

lisa after botanical boxwood

Gorgeous nursery, right?  Maria used a custom blend we made up for her, to match this header crown to the iron crib

maria man after

Margy started with this small buffet

margy before

and turned it into this gorgeous work of art!

Thanks so much for the feedback. I ended up using the “Reclaim Off-White” with the Reclaim Antiquing Glaze on the buffet, and I decoupaged the front doors using the “Double Starfish” design from Monahan Papers. This was really a labor of love, and very detailed especially for my first big refurbishing project – the front doors have a serpentine design and the papers had to align perfectly over the curvy front!  I love how it turned out 🙂

We love the aged papers and as Margy as shown, they can even be custom order in larger sizes 🙂

We don’t have the before, but Nanette created a cool barnworn finish on her chair

I used Textured Basecoat Mustard,  some Sedona Red, and Reclaim Licorice (black) .  I used your Sandstone Texture  for the stencil relief, which was buried beneath layers.  I am absolutely IN LOVE with this 7.00 chair reno!!!

  nanette after

nan after 2

Isn’t it amazing how the paints can layer and reveal to look authentically decades old?

nan after

Lisa shares,

I watched your DIY video a couple of times,which really helped me get through the process. The base coat was Reclaim “sage”. After gluing down the botanical paper with the Reclaim sealer, I used Caromal Colors Basecoat “putty” around the edges of the paper. The drawer also has some “putty” dry brushed on it. The body of the nightstand has Caromal Colors Basecoat “parchment” on it which works well with the background of the paper. I used Reclaim Antiquing Glaze over everything. It was light enough that it didn’t overwhelm the paper. I love how it turned out!

nightstand-1 lisa cox

nightstand-4 lisa cox

nightstand-2 lisa cox

nightstand-6 lisa coz

That turned out cool Lisa!

Ragen gave an old sled an update with APC Fireworks Red and one of the pretty seasonal aged papers

regan after

A textured stencil –

texture

and Wendy shares

Dear Patti,
Just wanted to thank you for your fabulous store, paint, and wisdom!  I just finished these nightstands for my daughter using the botanical papers and paint. She loves them! You were so helpful when I came in for help. Thank you again.

LOVE!  She used Caromal Colours Botanical paint color Gardenia, and the aged Botanical Papers – these are two of my favorite prints…

wendy after

She added a pretty raised design on the side with a stencil –

wendy texture stencil

Joe shared his bathroom makeover using Reclaim Paint Mocha … probably my favorite way to see an update – if you have the money, invest it in a new counter , then update the cabinets with a painted finish – million bucks!   (the floor is lovely too, must add 🙂 )

joe rusin

Leigh updated this furniture with Caromal Botanicals paint color Peony, and a soft, whimsical stencil –  love love love!

leighwild peony (2)

if you’re in the Metro Detroit stop by and visit- we’ve got a great variety to fit your EVERY need!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
MONDAYS CLOSED
TUESDAYS 10AM – 5PM
WEDNESDAYS 10AM – 5PM
THURSDAYS 10PM – 7PM
FRIDAYS 10AM – 5PM
SATURDAYS 10AM – 3PM
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

need paint?

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods – if this describes you, please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process. Our customers from a far are just as important as our local customers – when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

shop.fabfinisher.com

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

botanicals

cottage paint

BEAUTIFUL

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the store button below.

storefront

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING US!

come learn
be inspired

If you’re looking to paint with guidance, learn new products and techniques, or just looking for a great night out with friends or hubbies, check us out!

6 responses to “Our Customer’s Paint Projects – Sharing Post

  1. Patti!
    Of course, inspiring as usual. It’s fantastic to see the incredible pieces that were “meh” before. How do we not see it!?

    Now, you have a beautiful picture there of a raised stencil that simply says, “A textured stencil – ”

    My life is incomplete without that stencil. It would fill the door panels I’ve been staring at without inspiration or energy.

    Share….?
    Thanks to all your clients. 🙂

    • I think you found that stencil already ? 🙂 I saw one today on the table of outbound orders that Paigey was putting together – I wasnt sure who’s photo that was of the textured stencil, so I couldn’t say much on the post besides ‘textured stencil’ lol – and yes, we carry it in the store, and I’m pretty sure it’s one that was included online. Hopefully that was you today! Blessings!

      • Boy I hope so! If not, please send me one. I’ll send you cc info (if you don’t have it on file) immediately.
        YEAH!
        I can die happy.

  2. YAY!!!! Thanks Patty!!

    Nanette

  3. Hi Patty!

    I just wanted to say thank you so much for featuring my buffet in one of your recent newsletters! It was such a nice surprise!

    I’m actually working on another piece – a secretary’s hutch – that I’m pretty excited about, and will probably be refinishing some Drexel bedroom pieces here soon. 🙂

    Thanks again! Margy

Leave a Reply

