A Painted Manly Chest, Gray or Grey, Light Medium Dark, American Paint Co

I’ve got furniture tucked in the back workroom,  from acquisitions some time back.  I’m pretty good at resisting  the urge to buy more, until I can work down the pieces that I have, like this piece I recently started, over two years old –

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0534

But I will add to the pile , if it’s the right style at the right price.  Like this recent gem –

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0535

and this chest

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0513

I haven’t done a good job following my ‘first in, first out’ rule.

pieces that pluck at my heart strings

get painted first

And so we begin…

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0511

I started with American Paint’s Freedom Road, and Shingle on the Roof Freedom Road is APC’s dark grey, and Shingle is a dark misty brown

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0491

From there I applied  thin layers of a range of colors  – Uncle Sam, Smoke Signal, Freedom Rd, and Cannonball – until it felt right.

That might sound lame, but it’s the truth – for me, painting and feeling it go hand in hand.  Some colors will land together, side by side, on my brush,  others will mix together on the plate – my brush acting like a stir stick…

One thing I’ve learned -when I paint pieces like this I need to go start to finish.   I can’t leave one side, or a few drawers, for another day.  When  I have, I find myself struggling to get that same rhythm back that I had from the beginning.

DSC_0243

Sanded to reveal more depth, and more importantly to knock out any application marks I left behind

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0530

This one I’ll wax, using my favorite wax  (and not just because I am a retailer!)  – American Paint Company’s Vintage Antiquing Wax –  CLEAR ,

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0528

my preferred topcoat over darker colors like the bottom half of this chest.  Just grab yourself a brush (I prefer natural bristle chip brushes),  scrub it on/into that open paint finish, and then softly wipe any excess off when you are done.

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0532

You can see what you’ve  waxed and where you still need to go, making the wax-on even easier.

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0533

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0504

When the wax is dry, typically a few hours, you can buff it to a lovely sheen using a soft cloth or a buffing brush that attaches to your drill (can find here)

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0506

Love when the original hardware can be salvaged .  Clean it, dry it, and paint it!

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0527

Checking if the color is right

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0514

I add some glam to the feet – over sized crystal knobs-   my son cracked one when we were moving the piece to the showroom,  so I need to get another.

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0516

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0518

The buffed wax pops the depth in all of those colors

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0487

Before we move it to the front, I need to doll up the back – it’s something I enjoy – kind of my way of signing a piece 🙂

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0521

Time to settle into your showroom space

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0486 fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0524 fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0546

Another piece I wish I could take home…

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0489

Missing the pretty shoes

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0492

but loving the bit of glitz on the pulls 🙂

fabulous-finishes-studio-inspiration-painted-furniture-workshops-metro-detroit-diy-paints-shop-online0493

DSC_0730

if you’re in the Metro Detroit stop by and visit- we’ve got a great variety to fit your EVERY need!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
MONDAYS CLOSED
TUESDAYS 10AM – 5PM
WEDNESDAYS 10AM – 5PM
THURSDAYS 10PM – 7PM
FRIDAYS 10AM – 5PM
SATURDAYS 10AM – 3PM
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

need paint?

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods – if this describes you, please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process. Our customers from a far are just as important as our local customers – when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

shop.fabfinisher.com

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

botanicals

cottage paint

BEAUTIFUL

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the store button below.

storefront

THANK YOU FOR PLAYING WITH US!

come learn with us
be inspired with us

If you’re looking to paint with guidance, learn new products and techniques, or just looking for a great night out with friends or hubbies, check us out – I promise, you will not be disappointed!

2 responses to “A Painted Manly Chest, Gray or Grey, Light Medium Dark, American Paint Co

  1. I have been following your wonderful posts and watching your videos. One day I will make it to detroit. Right now a quick question – what did you use and how did you fix the little bits of glitz on the hardware ? I love that look. Thanks Cathy

    • i used the same colors on the hardware but left them overall lighter so they’d show up – i adhere the bling swarovskis with e6000, we actually sell it, and the picks, and mini bags of swarovskis in the store, and soon will be added to our online store – makes it convenient 🙂

Leave a Reply

