Painted Purple Ombre Vintage Cabinet In Progress –

I acquired these cupboards several years ago, at my first store location

The one on the right was my favorite – I loved

Her.

Even with her flaws –  the glass was missing – she was my kinda piece. I pulled her out last year, and painted her with American Paint Company Crushed Tea, and she sold soon after …

american-paint-china-cupboard-crushed-tea-ombre

The cabinet on the left I always referred to as the

He.

Finally,  a year since She was painted, I pulled Him out of the furniture heap…

purple-ombre-american-paint-fabfinisherI didn’t get very far that first day, and no free time was to be had in the week that  followed…

He waited… patiently.

Today, after the store closed,  when I should have been settling the books, I felt the urge to grab a brush and P A  I  N   T…

apc-ombre-vintage-cabinet-fabfinisher-purple

I started with a dark base of purple –  if you live local to our store, and are interested, pop in and we can show you the color/s we used for the base.  Otherwise, no sense mentioning, because at this time I’m not allowed to offer it for sale to my customers online.   Hopefully in the near future,  this hiccup can be remedied and we can share our excitement about colors that we like to use, AND, offer the paint color for purchase as well…

Over that dark purp base, I switched to American Paint Company paints, my go-to paints for blending and creating finishes that you’d class artsy fartsy-

APC colors Cannonball, Shining Seas, Bordello, First Lady, Chenille Beadspread, Uncle Sam…

AMERICAN-PAINT-CHALK-CLAYStill have a ways to go – but  I’ll be sure to share the completed cabinet.

Have a blessed week!

maxresdefault

if you’re in the Metro Detroit stop by and visit- we’ve got a great variety to fit your EVERY need!

we will have altered hours for upcoming Easter / Spring Break week:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
MONDAY CLOSED
TUESDAY 10AM – 5PM
WEDNESDAY 10AM – 5PM
THURSDAY 10PM – 7PM
Good FRIDAY    CLOSED
SATURDAY 10AM – 3PM

MONDAY CLOSED
TUESDAY   Apr  7th  noon  – 5PM
WEDNESDAY Apr 8th  noon  – 5PM
THURSDAY  Apr 9th noon  – 7PM
FRIDAY  Apr 10th noon  – 5PM
SATURDAY Apr 11th   10AM – 3PM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

need paint?

We are a full service retailer competitively priced

We realize that people that WANT to create don’t have our cool paints offered in their neck of the woods – if this describes you, please do us a favor and check out our online store – we strive to offer everything we can that will make your creating an easy and fun process. Our customers from a far are just as important as our local customers – when you shop with us we will be committed to helping you every step of the way.

store.fabfinisher.com

AMERICAN PAINT COMPANY

CAROMAL COLOURS

RECLAIM BEYOND PAINT

botanicals

cottage paint

BEAUTIFUL

BRUSHES, SUNDRIES, STENCILS

If you want to place an order, click on the store button below.

storefront

4 responses to “Painted Purple Ombre Vintage Cabinet In Progress –

  1. Hi! I love the color of the “she”. Do the American Paints cover as well as chalk paint? May I ask how many coats you put on the “Crushed Tea” dresser and is that all that you used?

  2. Hi Chris, The APC paints are what I’d consider a chalk paint and more – a blend of chalk clay and other natural minerals, difference from most chalk paints is its all natural – most colors cover very nice thoug there are a few that are less opaque on the first pass. The crushed tea was a base coat then a blend coat, but when I do that its a fiddly bendy coat I posted about that here. https://fabulousfinishes.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/creating-a-paint-finish-fit-for-a-princess-american-paint-company-crushed-tea/

  3. Hi Patty, I’m curious to know how much the “Her” cabinet sold for. I have a similar cabinet, unpainted. Thanks, Gena

    • that one sold for 985 Gena- I had it higher but purchaser was a repeat customer so we discounted it. unpainted, the condition was that great, especially since the door had no glass – it made it a little unsteady, and the existing finish was worn –

Leave a Reply

